TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,091 Reviews & Articles | 39,110 News Posts

Light Virtualization Software Review and Guide: Shadow Defender - Software Usage Part 2 - Mode Setting Continued

Light Virtualization Software Review and Guide: Shadow Defender
When it comes to Light Virtualization very few programs perform as well as Shadow Defender. This lightweight program is easy to use, bloat-free, and light on system resources; yet it possesses the power to fully contain some of the sturdiest of malware within its buffer and fully undo the damage with just a simple reboot.
| Security & Backup in Software | Posted: Mar 5, 2013 1:50 pm
TweakTown Rating: 98%Manufacturer: Shadow Defender

Software Usage Part 2 - Mode Setting Continued

 

You can instantly put any volumes you want in Shadow Mode without rebooting first, simply by placing a tick next to them and clicking the Enter Shadow Mode button. Once you do this a new prompt will pop up:

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5236_3_light_virtualization_software_review_and_guide_shadow_defender.jpg

 

The first option (Enter Shadow Mode on Boot) will place all ticked volumes into Shadow Mode straight away. It will also schedule Shadow Mode for those volumes to auto-start with Windows. Scheduled volumes will automatically go into Shadow Mode every time the computer starts, until you manually disable the scheduling as mentioned earlier. When Shadow Mode is enabled for any of your volumes, there will be a small Shadow Mode indicator placed at the top middle of your screen.

 

The second option (Exit Shadow Mode on Shutdown) will place all ticked volumes into Shadow Mode straight away, but for this Windows session only. With this option there will be no scheduling; any previously scheduled Shadow Mode option for those volumes will be disabled and all ticked volumes will be back into Normal Mode upon rebooting.

 

Once a volume is in Shadow Mode you can also easily disable the protection and bring it back into Normal Mode. Just tick its box on the list, then click the Exit Shadow Mode button. Once again a prompt with two options will pop up:

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5236_4_light_virtualization_software_review_and_guide_shadow_defender.jpg

 

The first option is the default pre-selected one and will discard all changes that have occurred on the volume since Shadow Mode was activated. If you have already added any files or folders into the SD Exclusion List (more on that later), then only the changes to those files/folders will be saved; all other changes will be discarded. There is also an option there to forcibly dismount a volume; this normally doesn't have to be ticked.

 

If the system volume (C:) is the one you are taking out of Shadow Mode then you will need to reboot the computer in order for the changes to be dropped. A reboot will also be needed to disable Shadow Mode for any other volumes that contain files/folders which are currently open or in use by other programs.

 

The second option is to Commit all changes. In this case all changes that have happened since Shadow Mode was activated will be committed to the real volume for good. Once again the computer will have to be restarted if you choose this option for your system volume (C:) or for any volumes with files/folders currently in use. Please commit wisely: Only do it when you are 100% sure that all changes are safe to commit. Remember that once you commit changes in this manner there will be no turning back to a previous state - unless of course you restore a previously taken traditional backup of that volume, or unless you also use snapshot software on that volume.

 

The Exit All Shadow Modes button disables Shadow Mode for all ticked volumes and brings them back into Normal Mode. When you use this option you will not be given the chance to commit anything: All changes will be automatically discarded (apart from any files/folders in the SD Exclusion List of course), and all ticked volumes will be brought back into Normal Mode. When you select this option any previously set Shadow Mode scheduling will be cancelled as well for all ticked volumes.

 

The Exit All Shadow Modes button provides an easy one-click way to discard all changes on all currently protected volumes and then take everything out of Shadow Mode in one go. You may be prompted to reboot if any volumes contain any files/folders that are currently open or in use by programs.

 

If you are interested in trying or buying Shadow Defender, you can visit this website.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Software content at our Software reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases