TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,923 Reviews & Articles | 38,168 News Posts

Fractal Design Adjust 108 Fan Controller Review - Fractal Design Adjust 108 Fan Controller

Fractal Design has come up with a fan controller that perfectly suits its cases. Take a peek at what the Adjust 108 offers.

| Fan Controllers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 19, 2012 10:44 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Fractal Design

Fractal Design Adjust 108 Fan Controller

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5095_07_fractal_design_adjust_108_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

Once all the packaging is removed you are staring the brushed aluminium and the plastic sliders dead in the face. Each of the sliders has a white line across it to match the Fractal Design in the middle of the controller.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5095_08_fractal_design_adjust_108_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

The front plate is mounted to the steel that not only provides this side of the controller, but it is folded under the controller and is also the other side.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5095_09_fractal_design_adjust_108_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

All of the wiring comes neatly bundled and makes getting this into the chassis much easier. I would leave it as is until it is mounted, then remove the tie and see where you want to run the wiring then.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5095_10_fractal_design_adjust_108_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

Just to keep things uniform there is also a black PCB. On the left side is the 4-pin power connection point, with the six 3-pin fan headers running across the top. Just to the right of the power plug are the jumper and four pins I was talking about that control the LEDs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5095_11_fractal_design_adjust_108_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

On the left of the controller, you can see it is the exact thing we saw on the other side. This time I will mention the six holes in the sides that will allow this to set at various depths to adjust to the various bezel depths of cases.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5095_12_fractal_design_adjust_108_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

At the top you have six 600mm wires with 3-pin connections for the PCB pointing at you, and at the other end of them is a 4-pin fan connection even though there are only three wires. In the front is the 4-pin power lead. On the opposite end to the connection that attaches to the PCB you get the Molex and SATA connector option. Since there will likely be an ODD close, you should be able to power things with that lead easily enough.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5095_13_fractal_design_adjust_108_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

Sliding the Adjust 108 into a chassis it had no issue lining up with the bezel, and even with the case not matching the aluminium panel, it definitely dresses up this plastic bezel. Now all we have to do is power it up and see what happens.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5095_14_fractal_design_adjust_108_fan_controller_review.jpg

 

Inside the chassis I plugged the front fan to channel one, the CPU cooler to channel three, and the rear case fan to channel six. As for channels one and six, they are at 100% and therefore the LEDs are blue. On channel three the slider is less than half, so the LED is shining white to remind me of that. Just for reference, this is the 50% intensity setting on that jumper in the back.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases