TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,214 Reviews & Articles | 40,230 News Posts

Enermax Hoplite ST Mid-Tower Chassis Review - Enermax Hoplite ST Mid-Tower Chassis

Enermax is back again in the labs with its Hoplite ST Mid-Tower case. It might have wished it never entered.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 17, 2012 1:36 pm
TweakTown Rating: 69%Manufacturer: Enermax

Enermax Hoplite ST Mid-Tower Chassis

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_07_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Down the face of the Hoplite ST you find a thick band of plastic at the top, bottom, and both of the sides. Then, in the mesh of the four bay covers and the large mesh panel over the intake you can see the "U" shaped design pressed into the mesh. This leaves the little space in the middle for the Enermax name in chromed lettering.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_08_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As the front rolls over the edge and meets the top of the chassis you run right into the front I/O panel. Here you have a reset button, two USB 2.0 ports, the HD Audio jacks, a USB 3.0 port, three speed fan controller, activity LEDs and the power button.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_09_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the I/O panel there is a slanted section on top that has a door covering the access to the connections under it now protected from dirt when not in use. The mesh behind it that allows an optional fan to blow through mimics the design of the bay covers design.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_10_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

If you lift the front of the door up, it swings open to allow you to easily set in a storage drive as I did with this SSD and have hot swap capabilities. This will not only fit this 2.5" drive, but any SATA 3.5" hard drive as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_11_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Now looking in at the left side of the chassis you can see the thick plastic wraps three sides of the Hoplite as the feet continue with the parts on top and on the front. The "I" shaped window is something I haven't seen, and I like the incorporated finger grip and angled fan mounting holes.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_12_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Looking much closer at the fan holes and the slits cut from the window shows that on both sides of the slits and coming off in one direction from every fan screw hole are these stress cracks I am pointing out with the white arrows. This is not something I want to see when staring in at my expensive hardware.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_13_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the Hoplite ST you get four holes to pass water cooling tubing through, two at the top and two in the middle. The rest of the chassis is well ventilated including the seven expansion slots and the section next to them.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_14_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As I was checking things out, I noticed that two of the fan screws were stripped. The other one is not quite as bad as this, but again not something you would want in a brand new chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_15_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Over on the right side when looking at the back of the chassis, you will find a handle that is folded flat against the chassis. Unfold it and it allows you to remove this really tight side panel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_16_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The right side panel is just a large expanse of black textured paint on a steel panel that only offers the small finger hold to try to remove this super tight fitting panel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/0/5034_17_enermax_hoplite_st_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Under the chassis you have long wide feet with much smaller rubber pads attached to them to keep the chassis from sliding around. Near the back, under where the PSU will install, there is a small removable dust filter to make cleaning a little easier.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases