TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,006 Reviews & Articles | 38,760 News Posts

Raidmax Viper Mid-Tower Chassis Review - Inside the Raidmax Viper

It comes in red, white and black, has Euro tinting on the window and it's named Viper; it has to be a sports car! Or maybe not, it can also be the latest chassis from Raidmax!

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Feb 11, 2012 4:24 am
TweakTown Rating: 86%Manufacturer: Raidmax

Inside the Raidmax Viper

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_14_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Removing the side panel I could see there is definitely a side fan installed even though the specs show it as optional. I left the static-cling plastic on to show you how far Raidmax went to keep everything protected. Both the inside and outside of the window have this applied before the liner goes over the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_15_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The first look inside shows off the odd color combination I mentioned earlier. The wiring was tied up as to not flail about in transit and the hardware is found in the hard drive area in the light brown box and I use the term box lightly.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_16_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

At the top of the chassis you get four blue tool-less locks to keep the four 5.25" bay devices secure if you are keeping the chassis in one place. If you plan to travel with this case, I suggest using screws on the other side as well. The lowest bay is for the 3.5" floppy drive the cover alluded to.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_17_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Temporarily the wiring is run through the hard drive bays, but it will be re-routed for the build. The four hard drive bays also have blue tool-less latches on them. The one thing I couldn't find in this chassis is a place to mount a 2.5" drive, like the OCZ SSD I run on my build rig.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_18_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The motherboard tray is pretty basic, but still offers a large access hole along with a pair both of large wire management holes with rubber grommets in them and wire tie points. There is also a section next to the hard drive bays that is open and allows you to pass wires there to hide them.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_19_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The floor of the chassis has just the hole for the power supply and oddly holes spaced for a 120mm fan in front of it, but no hole! Also the chassis serial number is added to the chassis on a sticker found here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_20_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside of the back of the Viper you can see the blue, seven bladed, black framed fan exhausting the chassis and its 4-pin Molex power connection. The seven blue expansion slots are held in with hex-head screws for secure mounting of any card.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_21_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the tray there is no room for wiring really, in fact a little bump at the bottom left corner of the tray is all you are given to pass wires to the motherboard at the bottom of the case. The real space is found next to the hard drives and I will be stashing things here myself.

 

TweakTown image content/4/5/4542_22_raidmax_viper_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The wiring included with the Viper is basic as well, but gets the job done. You get a 20-pin USB 3.0 connector and a HD Audio connection from the front I/O. Then you just connect the power, reset, HDD activity and power LED connections and all of the cabling is long enough for any build.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases