TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,213 Reviews & Articles | 40,213 News Posts

Danger Den Q20 Black Series "Shadow" Acrylic Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Danger Den delivered the Q20 acrylic chassis for us to review. And this time it's with water cooling!

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 29, 2011 5:48 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: Danger Den

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_30_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

Now comes the joy of adding the hardware to the chassis! Since the shroud was out when I added the front I/O to the chassis, I went ahead and bolted up the triple 120 radiator and fans as well as press fitting the reservoir into the dual bays at the top.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_31_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

At this point I have the Z68 with my 2600K in the case with the block, tubing, reservoir, and radiator all plumbed and ready for action.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_32_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

In this build I wanted to show off the SSD mounting on the tray so I used this OCZ I have laying around. On the flip side of it, I didn't have any SATA cables long enough to make the journey from the top left corner of the chassis to the ports on the motherboard either. Something you need to think of when getting the components list together for case accessories.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_33_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

After a bit of bleeding the loop, I added a dye bomb of red to match the memory installed on the board. I also at this stage went ahead and completed the build. One other thing I noticed too late. The PSU needs to be installed before the ATX motherboard is, once the board is installed the PSU will not fit into the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_34_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

If you only have mechanical discs, or need a Raid array, the top left corner is where they will go. Keep in mind not only are you going to need longer SATA cables, you also need to device a good looking way to run power up there too.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_35_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

On the outside, behind the hard drives, the reason for the removable panel is more obvious now. Removing this small panel will allow for you to swap drives without needing to open the sides of the chassis!

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_36_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

I would have thought that there would be a gasket of some form here to keep the PSU vibrations off the acrylic, but the sheer thickness of this acrylic must be enough. I was able to tighten the screws really well without feeling like I was going to damage the acrylic.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4497_37_danger_den_q20_black_series_shadow_acrylic_chassis_review.jpg

 

Just though I should step back a bit and show all of the rear of the Q20 in one shot before we move onto the better looking sides of the chassis.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases