TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,214 Reviews & Articles | 40,225 News Posts

Thortech Thunderbolt Plus 1000W PSU Review - Inside the Box

We take our first look at a Thortech PSU and see what the Thunderbolt Plus 1000W PSU has to offer.

| Other PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 17, 2011 4:09 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Thortech

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_11_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Inside the box we find the power supply sandwiched between two pieces of foam. Underneath all of this are the modular cables and accessories.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_12_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Lifting off the top layer of foam, we find the power supply in a bag to protect it even more.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_13_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Underneath the native cables lies the 5.25" display.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_14_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Here we catch our first glimpse of the Thortech Thunderbolt Plus 100W PSU. It has a matte black finish with the I/O specification sticker on the top.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_15_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Both sides of the power supply display the same Thunderbolt Plus 1000W label.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_16_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Airflow is kept to a maximum with the honeycomb mesh grill and minimal obstruction on the back of the unit.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_17_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

The front houses the modular connectors. Notice that the native cables have both a grommet and are zip tied together where they exit the PSU.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_18_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

The bottom of the unit gives us a glimpse of the fan that cools the unit. It is covered by a honeycomb mesh grill.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_27_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

This is the iPower meter included with the Thortech Plus. They have it covered in plastic to keep it from getting scratched during shipping.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_28_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

The back view shows that it is a simple controller board for the LCD and there is a single connection to hook it up to the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_29_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Here we see the iPower Meter when the power supply is turned on. It is rather bright in a very dimly lit room, but easy to read.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_19_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Also include in the box are the user manual, power cable, reusable Velcro cable ties and mounting screws.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_20_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Rounding out the list of things included are the modular cables. They are neatly held in place by a pouch that folds in half and Velcro's together.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases