TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,983 Reviews & Articles | 38,651 News Posts

Thortech Thunderbolt Plus 1000W PSU Review - Inside the Box

We take our first look at a Thortech PSU and see what the Thunderbolt Plus 1000W PSU has to offer.

| Other PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 17, 2011 4:09 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: Thortech

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_11_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Inside the box we find the power supply sandwiched between two pieces of foam. Underneath all of this are the modular cables and accessories.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_12_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Lifting off the top layer of foam, we find the power supply in a bag to protect it even more.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_13_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Underneath the native cables lies the 5.25" display.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_14_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Here we catch our first glimpse of the Thortech Thunderbolt Plus 100W PSU. It has a matte black finish with the I/O specification sticker on the top.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_15_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Both sides of the power supply display the same Thunderbolt Plus 1000W label.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_16_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Airflow is kept to a maximum with the honeycomb mesh grill and minimal obstruction on the back of the unit.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_17_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

The front houses the modular connectors. Notice that the native cables have both a grommet and are zip tied together where they exit the PSU.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_18_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

The bottom of the unit gives us a glimpse of the fan that cools the unit. It is covered by a honeycomb mesh grill.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_27_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

This is the iPower meter included with the Thortech Plus. They have it covered in plastic to keep it from getting scratched during shipping.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_28_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

The back view shows that it is a simple controller board for the LCD and there is a single connection to hook it up to the power supply.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_29_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Here we see the iPower Meter when the power supply is turned on. It is rather bright in a very dimly lit room, but easy to read.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_19_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Also include in the box are the user manual, power cable, reusable Velcro cable ties and mounting screws.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4424_20_thortech_thunderbolt_plus_1000w_psu_review.jpg

 

Rounding out the list of things included are the modular cables. They are neatly held in place by a pouch that folds in half and Velcro's together.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases