TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,918 Reviews & Articles | 38,135 News Posts

Zalman VF3000F Dual Turbine VGA Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

It took me a bit, but I finally got around to asking Zalman for the VF3000F Dual Turbine VGA Cooler for my GTX 470. Stick around and see how well it does!

| Video Card Colers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 3, 2011 3:07 pm
TweakTown Rating: 85%      Manufacturer: Zalman

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4223_25_zalman_vf3000f_dual_turbine_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

I skipped right to the chase this time and offer you my naked GTX 470 ready to install the VF3000F and all of its components. For those of you keeping track, you will also notice the G1 from Arctic Cooling came off without a hitch!

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4223_26_zalman_vf3000f_dual_turbine_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

First off, you need to install the plate that covers the PCB components. This requires you to place thick rubber washers that are backed with tape to the holes pointed out in the instructions. This will keep the plate, if over tightened, from doing any damage to the PCB near the screw holes.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4223_27_zalman_vf3000f_dual_turbine_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

I took a bit of artistic liberty here. The instructions say to apply the ZM-STG2 to all the components that the plate is going to transfer heat from. Rather than making a mess on my card again, I opted to replace TIM for silicone rubber. Since we are looking mainly at the actual GPU temperature, this should have little effect on that part of this coolers result.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4223_28_zalman_vf3000f_dual_turbine_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

After using the ten screws provided in the kit, I was easily able to apply the plate to the card. Now, you can see how specific this plate is made. Unless you have a reference layout, there is a chance this plate may not work.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4223_29_zalman_vf3000f_dual_turbine_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

All I had to do to get this far was to add four risers to the base of the cooler, slide on the o-rings, slide in the cooler and use the four nuts and springs left out of all the hardware to secure the VF3000F to my GTX 470.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4223_30_zalman_vf3000f_dual_turbine_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Typically, this is all of the cooler you will ever see during ownership. Even so, the VF3000F is an attractive addition to the card. I like this styling much more than the AXP II we just tested.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4223_31_zalman_vf3000f_dual_turbine_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

There isn't really anything to point out here; I just thought it was a nice angle to look at the VF3000.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4223_32_zalman_vf3000f_dual_turbine_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

This is the last image and I thought that since it has the bright, green LEDs, I should grab a picture of it in operation. Well, here it is in all of its powered glory.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases