TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,931 Reviews & Articles | 38,203 News Posts

SilverStone Raven SST-RV03B-W EATX Tower Chassis Review - Inside The SilverStone SST-RV03B-W EATX Tower Chassis

The Raven gets redone, this time in its third incarnation. SilverStone have dropped off a SST-RV03B-W for us to have a look at!

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 24, 2011 10:06 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: SilverStone

Inside The SilverStone SST-RV03B-W Extended ATX Tower Chassis

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4107_15_silverstone_raven_sst_rv03b_w_eatx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As I started to open things up, I was wondering how to gain access to the front. I removed all of the bay covers, which are removable from the outside, and I found a set of hard drive bays and some fan adapters. To get this out, I need to remove like fifteen screws and lift the tool-free latches to sled all this out.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4107_16_silverstone_raven_sst_rv03b_w_eatx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Panels removed, we can get a look inside the latest Raven. At first glance it looks typical, but look closer; there are a few changes afoot in this design.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4107_17_silverstone_raven_sst_rv03b_w_eatx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Matching the outside, on the inside there are another two fan adapters in the bays. If you want to install hard drives here, you can, but there is a better place for those. It looks odd with the cable at the bottom, but that plug is an adapter for the PSU that goes in here. It then leads under the chassis to be powered.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4107_18_silverstone_raven_sst_rv03b_w_eatx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

The motherboard tray is decked out with all the management you will need along with many places to tie wires to on the back. You will also notice that motherboard sizes and VGA length is stamped into the metal as a guide.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4107_19_silverstone_raven_sst_rv03b_w_eatx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

In the floor of the RV03 you will find the pre-wired 180mm Air Penetrator fans. As I mentioned, the one on the right is shifted back slightly to add flow behind the motherboard tray, and these are what is attached to the fan controls.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4107_20_silverstone_raven_sst_rv03b_w_eatx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Under the chassis there is a pair of magnetic dust filters for both the 180mm fans as well as the power supply. The large tabs allow you to easily remove them while the chassis is upright, and the magnets make replacing them a cinch.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4107_21_silverstone_raven_sst_rv03b_w_eatx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Behind the tray SilverStone has done a similar treatment to this as I just saw in the FT03. There are loads of options to install drives, with plenty of room for the wiring. Speaking of which, you haven't seen much of it have you? This is due to the whole chassis being essentially pre-routed for the best looks and an awesome looking finished result.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases