TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,012 Reviews & Articles | 38,780 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

GIGABYTE P67A-UD7 (Intel P67 Express) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

With Sandy Bridge having lifted off of the launch pad, we are now taking a look at the platform that will put it into the upper layers of the market - the P67 in GIGABYTE style.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Jan 3, 2011 6:14 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

BIOS

 

One of the things with the new P67 chipset and Sandy Bridge was going to be the move to a new BIOS format. This format was going to be more graphical and also incorporate the use of your mouse. The GB P67A-UD7 does not have this BIOS type and instead has stuck to the original BIOS format. Because of this there is not much new to cover here.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_16.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_17.jpg

 

As you can see, the traditional M.I.T. page is here with your usual options.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_18.jpg

 

As we mentioned before, you have to really crank up the multiplier to get good overclocking. Here we have ours pushed up to 47.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_19.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_20.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_21.jpg

 

Although most of the voltage options are the same, you can see there is a new one. This is the System Agent Voltage. For the most part this can be left alone, or bumped up to around .955 for stability.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_22.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_23.jpg

 

The options above are very familiar; really not much to talk about.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_24.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_25.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_26.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_27.jpg

 

Like we said, a fairly typical BIOS. We hope to tinker with the new BIOS style shortly after CES.

 


Overclocking

 

The GIGABYTE P67A-UD7 was pretty easy to overclock. We simply adjusted the multiplier and bumped up the voltage until we had a stable clock We were able to push it up to 4.7GHz (47x100). This was accomplished at 1.425 Volts and everything was rock solid. In fact, it was not that hard to get this speed.

 

We were able to do a full OC using the stock Multiplier and then again adjusting the individual cores to a 48 Multi. Not much to it really. Memory clocking was much simpler as we were able to just set it at 1600MHz and run instead of trying to find the right divider for stable memory.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_100.png

 

Validation here.

 


EasyTune 6

 

EasyTune 6 is a nice utility as far as overclocking goes. There are better out there, but for the most part this gets the job done and gives you the tools and options you need to push your CPU from the comfort of Windows.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_28.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_29.png

 

The first two tabs are more informational than anything. They give you a run down on the speed of your CPU and RAM. It is not until the third tab that you get some real tools to work with

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_30.png

 

The first item of the tuner tab is the Quick Boost. It is pretty self-explanatory, as you can see.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_31.png

 

Next up is the easy page; this allows you to adjust very little, yet oddly enough gives you access to the BCLK. This is something that you should not tinker with.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_32.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_33.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_34.png

 

It is not until you get to the advanced mode that you get more options and can also adjust the voltages and multiplier.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_35.png

 

The Graphics tab lets you tweak your GPU (like you did not know that) right from EasyTune 6 without the need to pull up anything else.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_36.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3756_37.png

 

Meanwhile, the HW monitor tab lets you keep an eye on your voltages and temperatures.
Like I said, not a bad utility.

 

As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary. Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases