TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,669 Reviews & Articles | 36,040 News Posts

Corsair AirFlow Pro Dynamic LED Display Kit - Packaging and the Corsair AirFlow 2 Memory Cooler

Tired of doing the finger test to see if your DDR3 is hot? Corsair brings a solution to us to make checking the status of your memory a one glance operation.

| Cables & Accessories in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 29, 2010 6:12 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: Corsair

The Package and the Corsair AirFlow 2 Memory Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3686_02.jpg

 

My three piece kit comes in a brown box labelled simply with a large blue logo on top. The side of the package is taped closed with a sticker designating this as the CMXAFPRO PK2. Simply put, this package contains all three separately packed components inside of this.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3686_03.jpg

 

The first thing I ran into was the Corsair AirFlow 2 fan. The CMXAF2 comes shipped in a clear plastic clam shell packaging that includes the body of the fan and all the hardware needed for assembly.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3686_04.jpg

 

The back of the packaging shows why one would need to purchase a memory fan, a few of the features of the AirFlow 2 fan, and support information if you do have any issues or questions.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3686_05.jpg

 

Inside is the main body of the fan assembly. This contains two 60mm fans capable of almost 27 CFM at 3500 RPM. Powering the unit requires you to find an empty motherboard fan header or use an adapter of your own to convert it to Molex power. The biggest change here is the use of blue stripes in the stickers, as I am used to seeing the red version sent with the Dominator GTs.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3686_06.jpg

 

The frames of the fans are very thin and should allow the fan to maximize its air flow onto your memory. If for any reason you would need to disassemble this unit, the Phillip's screws found on the front are secured with these nuts. This is what keeps the three fans in place and holds the two pieces of aluminum together.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3686_07.jpg

 

The hardware with the AirFlow 2 fan consists of four washers, four lock washers, and four thumbscrews to mount the two legs to the body of the cooler. The legs set just under the top of the memory fan, and the screws simply lock these legs to the bottom side of the top of the cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3686_08.jpg

 

Inside of the cardboard insert that displayed the features on the back, you will find that there is a set of step by step instructions on how to install and power the AirFlow 2 fan.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3686_09.jpg

 

Assembled, this is what the AirFlow 2 memory cooler should look like.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3686_10.jpg

 

From what I remember, the CMXAF1 didn't have this hole in the leg. The red and blue versions of the CMXAF2 do however. When using the AirFlow Pro, the wiring now has a convenient access hole to keep wire management clean and tidy when we get that far.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below