TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,088 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

Rosewill RGD1000 1000W Modular Power Supply - Inside the Box

Rosewill promises plenty of power for your high end rig with the RGD1000 at a good price, but does it truly deliver?

| Other PSUs in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Oct 6, 2010 10:02 am
TweakTown Rating: 83%      Manufacturer: Rosewill

Inside the Box

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3566_07.jpg

 

Cracking open the box, we can see that things are packed quite tightly and securely. The manual is on top of the foam protecting the power supply and the modular cables are in the soft case on the left.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3566_08.jpg

 

After removing the top layer of foam, we finally get a glimpse of the RGD1000. Note that the permanently attached cables are held together by a reusable Velcro cable tie instead of the usual twist tie. Extra cable management is always nice to have included.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3566_09.jpg

 

Rosewill opts to place the specification label on the top of the PSU rather than the side like most. For those that are looking for a clean look through a window, this is a hard to find aesthetic feature.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3566_10.jpg

 

The back of the RGD1000 uses a honeycomb design for maximum airflow. Note the connection for the power cable isn't square with the rest of the PSU. This isn't something that you normally see. It was quite secure and wouldn't move at all and just shows a minor lack of attention to detail.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3566_11.jpg

 

Here we see the side of the PSU lacking the spec label and the clean look that it offers. Both sides are identical.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3566_12.jpg

 

The front of the PSU is clearly labeled for all of the modular cables and can be easily read even if your case requires the PSU be mounted upside down.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3566_13.jpg

 

On the bottom we see the large 135mm fan which keeps the PSU cool while also keeping the noise down.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below