TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,209 Reviews & Articles | 40,188 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will have 'just for PC' features, including a video editor

Sharkoon Nightfall Mid Tower Chassis - Inside The Sharkoon Nightfall Mid Tower Case

Part 2 of the Sharkoon Trio is here. Think Rebel with a twist and add a bit of elegance.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 23, 2010 10:31 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Sharkoon

Inside The Sharkoon Nightfall Mid Tower Case

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3472_12.jpg

 

Opening things up we get to see the second most notable change. There isn't a full rack of front facing bays in the Nightfall. Here Sharkoon offers a five drive rack facing the door panel. These allow for a cleaner installed look in my opinion, and are easier to use.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3472_13.jpg

 

All of the front I/O wiring is bundled together, but still allows room to install a drive easily in the top slot. The following four slots have the twist lock, tool-lees clips to hold the drives in place. I mentioned that the hard drive rack is turned, but if you look closely in front of it, you can see the lone fan included in the Nightfall. As you glance over the motherboard tray you will find it is exactly what we saw in the Rebel.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3472_14.jpg

 

The Nightfall has the entire front I/O wiring group in a length that allowed for a clean install even when hiding them behind the tray. Furthest away is the wiring for the front fan. The length again is long and offers connectivity via a 3-pin or 4-pin Molex.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3472_15.jpg

 

The rear of the Nightfall is very reminiscent of the image form the Rebel9 Economy case. With no fans in the top or the back, the end user needs to pick these up when purchasing the Nightfall if you desire the added air flow.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3472_16.jpg

 

With the addition of a blue LED fan as an intake in the front it only made sense that the bottom of the bezel be vented in the Nightfall. If you remember, the Rebel9 has a panel that covers this area pretty good even though it has the same mount for the intake fan. The fan is double screened. There is the bezel mesh and then the removable dust filter, so keeping the inside free of dust is taken care of. Don't forget to be sure the LED wires are free when you pull this front bezel.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3472_17.jpg

 

The top is lacking a fan as well. A 120mm or 140mm fan can be installed under the mesh in the top panel. The floor of the case gets supported with small rubber feet. The Nightfall also keeps the dust filter to keep your PSU clean when installed.

 

TweakTown image content/3/4/3472_18.jpg

 

Hiding wires back behind the tray is pretty easy. With the exposed view through the hard drive bays, hiding wires is a little tougher. Getting tired of fighting extra cable, I got a modular PSU for mid towers. You will soon see just how clean a little case can be when the correct parts are assembled in one little package.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases