TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,927 Reviews & Articles | 38,179 News Posts

Thermaltake Armor A90 Mid Tower Chassis - The Build and Finished Product

Utilizing the Element Series as a strong starting point, Thermaltake tweaks the ideas both inside and out to bring us the Armor A90.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 17, 2010 3:38 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Thermaltake

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3351_23.jpg

 

I installed the hard drive and optical drive and then snapped the front bezel back into place. I like that the wiring is contained to the chassis and the front is free from them once removed.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3351_24.jpg

 

There were no clearance issues inside; you can see the ATX motherboard and full length graphics card fit with room to spare. Keeping things neat and tidy to maximize the fans potential was really easy. Just had to tuck some wires here, zip tie them there, and this is what you can end up with.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3351_25.jpg

 

Not really too much going on back here. The holes are now all filled, nothing unusual to speak of, and no issues with lining up the components during the installation.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3351_26.jpg

 

Creative placement of the wiring helps, but like I said before, there is just a ton of room next to the drive bays. Granted, I didn't hide everything here, but you can see I still had quite a bit of room to hide more if I had needed to. I was able to pass the 8-pin lead behind the tray, but that is about it, anything thicker and the panel would have had real issues closing.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3351_27.jpg

 

I know this isn't the best image in the world, but I wanted to give you an idea of what is actually visible when you peak into the window.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3351_28.jpg

 

When powered on, the A90 floods the table with a blue glow from the LED fan. The hard drive activity and power LED are seriously bright, so if this case is going in a bedroom, keep this in mind. Even from eight to ten feet away, they are still blindingly bright if you look directly at them.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3351_29.jpg

 

Moving even further back, the glow from the top LED fan becomes visible as well. With the lights turned down, the inside of the case looks blue as well when you look through the window. For an oddly shaped case, I really do like it for some reason.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases