TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,137 Reviews & Articles | 39,434 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Cooler Master Storm Sniper Black Edition Mid-Tower Case - The Build and Finished Product

Cooler Master sent me the Storm Sniper Black Edition chassis. Let's see how well the kill to death ratio plays out.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 7, 2010 3:28 am
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3091_25.jpg

 

As much as it pains me to do, I have to show what happened. While I was loading the components and trying to get a couple of pictures, I must have shifted the weight wrong, and I hear a snap. To my dismay the foot snapped right even with the bottom of the chassis. In Cooler Master's defence, I simply asked for a replacement, with a brief description of what happened, and they are currently shipping me a replacement foot. Thanks for the great support Cooler Master!

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3091_26.jpg

 

Just like those from the HAF, the hard drive trays just "flex" onto the drive itself. You set two of the pins on one side of the drive, then bend the tray a bit and force it up the other side until the pins line up. Once at this point it's ready to slide into place.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3091_27.jpg

 

Assembly was pretty easy and I ran into no issues as far as getting things to line up or even a way to keep things clean while still getting power where it's needed. Plenty of room in here for SLI or Crossfire of even the largest cards!

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3091_28.jpg

 

With an adapter or two, and a bunch of tie straps, I was able to manage to get both my rat's nest of PSU wiring and the case wiring under control. Within reason, it doesn't matter much where the bulky connections are, as the bump in the door allows you to hide thicker wires like the 24-pin, although mine was just too short to go around the back.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3091_29.jpg

 

Sorry, I just liked this image, and it shows you just need to reach under the front of the dust cover for it to pull out for cleaning. I was just about to snap it back into place and add some power.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3091_30.jpg

 

Once the power is added the Sniper comes to life in a glow of blue LED lighting. With the lights down in the room the case looks a fair bit different.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3091_31.jpg

 

As most of you about to sit at the table at a LAN event would see it.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3091_32.jpg

 

A look at the rear all completed. I really need a black PSU for these reviews, and I now wish the rear I/O shield came in a black nickel finish, or even just painted or coated flat black for that matter.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3091_33.jpg

 

Looking at the front, you can see the optical drive in the second slot. This not only gave me a better look inside, but allows a bit of the glow from the top 200mm fan to show through, as if the 200mm fan right here in the front doesn't provide enough already.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases