Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,685 Reviews & Articles | 45,698 News Posts
We are looking for a US-based news reporter, join our awesome team!

Arctic Cooling Accelero Twin Turbo Pro GPU Cooler - The Arctic Cooling Accelero Twin Turbo Pro GPU Cooler


By: | Video Card Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 22, 2009 3:32 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Arctic Cooling

The Arctic Cooling Accelero Twin Turbo Pro GPU Cooler

 

content/3/0/3075_06.jpg

 

The Accelero TTP uses a full coverage shroud like many others from AC. This time the shroud housed two, eleven bladed, 92mm fans to remove the head from the thirty fins underneath.

 

content/3/0/3075_07.jpg

 

The TTP uses pretty short fins (top to bottom) that proved both a lower profile to the card, but also a fair bit of clearance to the heat sinks and capacitors on the PCB. The fins are pressed on to the four copper heat pipes, and each fin is stamped with the Accelero Twin Turbo Pro logo.

 

content/3/0/3075_08.jpg

 

Spinning the TTP around to get a look at the heat pipes, shows AC makes some very gentle bends in the pipes to get them turned around and back into the fins. This keeps the pipes from kinking, and lower performance.

 

content/3/0/3075_09.jpg

 

The power plug could be seen in the last few images, but I wanted to get close up and show this in more detail. AC has wired the fans to run off of one connection, or in this case the possibility of either a 3-pin fan header or a 4-pin header that can go directly back into the graphics cards fan power header to allow the bios to control the fan speeds. There is an adapter included to regulate the 3-pin connection if the need is there for it.

 

content/3/0/3075_10.jpg

 

Looking a bit closer at the TTP, I wanted to take the fan shroud off to get a look at the cooling fins, but I found my plans were thwarted. It seemed simple at first, I thought all I had to do was unclip this tab and the one on the opposing end, but….

 

content/3/0/3075_11.jpg

 

Under closer examination, when the fan wouldn't let loose, I found that there are two screws (hard to see, third and tenth gap from the left of the aluminum section of the base) running from the base that are accessed under the center sticker on the shroud. Rather than destroy the sticker at this point in the review, I left the cooler intact.

 

content/3/0/3075_12.jpg

 

Under the Accelero, we have a copper base that is soldered to the heat pipes. Surrounding the base ia an adjustable, aluminum plate that has holes already in place for 53mm and 43mm spacing found on most graphics cards. I mentioned earlier that the location of the core on the PCB being important. Not so much of an issue here, and this cooler offers 5mm of adjustment, so the mounting holes can be moved a bit for better compatibility.

 

content/3/0/3075_13.jpg

 

Arctic Cooling covers the base in a pre-applied layer of MX-2, and after the testing was done I took a better look at the base when I was cleaning up the TIM. The base is flat against a razor, but isn't exactly smooth. The Aluminum mounting ring has 3M adhesive on the mounting holes. This is to aid in the installation process to hold some spacers in place why you assemble the cooler to the card.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.



    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down