TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,982 Reviews & Articles | 38,649 News Posts

XClio Godspeed One Advanced Mid Tower Case - The Build and Finished Product

XClio aren't one of the dominating mobs around when it comes to PC chassis' but have proven that they know how to offer great bang for your buck.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 12, 2009 3:21 am
TweakTown Rating: 87%      Manufacturer: XClio

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3006_22.jpg

 

Based on the fact I needed a good amount of power to run the components I chose for the build, I chose a PSU I had on hand that would cover my needs. Once I went to install it I ran into my first snag. My PSU of choice was a bit too large, and my PSU is by no means "large". Nothing to worry about, though, I will just remove the fans to allow a good fit for my PSU.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3006_23.jpg

 

Installing a drive is quite simple. Just turn the purple center to the vertical position and pull out the clip, slide the drive in and replace the clip. Rotating the purple handle to the horizontal position locks the pins into the drive, and the clip into the side of the rack. The same procedure is taken to place the hard drive as well.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3006_24.jpg

 

With no real wire management to speak of, I had to get pretty creative with zip ties. With everything installed I was able to hide quite a bit of wiring both here behind the drives and in the top drive bay. Keeping this build tidy can be done, but takes a bit of time to sort it all out and make it look nice.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3006_25.jpg

 

Getting everything back into place, I had to snap on the front cover over the drive. It clears the drive really nicely, but the clips that hold the front on were just as tough going in as coming out.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3006_26.jpg

 

Getting a lot of equipment into the Godspeed was relatively easy. I was even able to house my 9800 GTX+ with room to spare. Even here though, you have to think a bit ahead. The hard drives could easily cause issues with clearance of multi-card setups.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3006_27.jpg

 

The rear of the chassis is clean and the I/O shield goes in really nice. Just a gentle push and it almost falls into a locked position. What I did find a bit scary, is when I was removing the expansion slot covers, I caught my finger pretty good on the sharp metal between the slots. Be careful when removing these!

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3006_28.jpg

 

Tying up all the loose ends, I closed up the Godspeed One Advanced and added power. The lights surrounding the power and reset switches are subdued and don't show up well here, but the five blue LED's per fan on the door really light things up.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3006_29.jpg

 

The window the fans are housed in does give you a bit of a peek inside at the graphics card. With the fans running the view is a bit clearer than without. If you don't turn on the LED's the view is even easier to be had.

 

TweakTown image content/3/0/3006_30.jpg

 

All the lighting needed to get quality images washed out the effect of the fans in the door. I turned a few off to show just how well they flood the chassis and surrounding area with blue light.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases