Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,683 Reviews & Articles | 45,681 News Posts
We are looking for a US-based news reporter, join our awesome team!

ASRock P55 Deluxe Lynnfield Motherboard - Synthetic Tests - Part II


By: | Socket LGA 1156 in Motherboards | Posted: Sep 16, 2009 6:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: ASRock

Disk Drive Controller

 

The system drive controller is an important part of system performance. In most modern boards your drive controller will run off of the PCI-e bus. The PCI-e bus performance can be affected by poor trace layout as well as many other design choices that show up on different boards.

 

For testing we use both Everest and SiSoft's Sandra.

 

content/2/9/2924_36.png

 

For Sandra we did not see much improvement between our overclocked and stock CPUs speeds. The same is true between the Core i7 and Core i5.

 


Our Everest testing only confirms what we saw with SiSoft Sandra. There is very little performance difference between the platforms.

 

content/2/9/2924_37.png

Core i5 750 Stock

 

content/2/9/2924_38.png

Core i5 750 @ 4230MHz

 

content/2/9/2924_39.png

Core i7 870 Stock

 

content/2/9/2924_40.png

Core i7 870 @ 4030MHz

 


Marvell SATA 6G Controller

 

For testing with the SATA 6G controller we used a Kingston SSD Now V+ 128GB SSD drive. We set this up on both the Intel controller and the Marvel. As we mentioned above we hit some performance issues when we ran it in the logical choice of the existing PCI-e x1 slot. This is (according to ASRock) an issue with the way the drivers deal with the Generation 1 PCI-e slot there.

 

However, once we followed their suggestion of putting it in one of the Generation 2 slots our performance went right back up to where it should be, although the Intel SATA controller still is faster. Once we can get our hands on a SATA 6G drive, we will be sure to return to this controller and see what (if any) performance gains there are.

 

Everest

 

content/2/9/2924_41.png

Intel SATA II Controller

 

content/2/9/2924_42.png

Marvell SATA 6G PCI-e Gen 1

 

content/2/9/2924_43.png

Marvell SATA 6G PCI-e Gen 2

 


SiSoft Sandra

 

content/2/9/2924_44.png

Intel SATA II Controller

 

content/2/9/2924_45.png

Marvell SATA 6G PCI-e Gen 1

 

content/2/9/2924_46.png

Marvell SATA 6G PCI-e Gen 2

 

Moving on now to our other tests.

 

    PRICING: You can find products similar to this one for sale below.


    United States: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon's website.

    United Kingdom: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon UK's website.

    Australia: Find other tech and computer products like this over at PLE Computer's website.

    Canada: Find other tech and computer products like this over at Amazon Canada's website.



    We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Or Scroll Down