TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,065 Reviews & Articles | 38,982 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: NVIDIA releases the GeForce GTX 980, its most advanced GPU at $549

ASRock P55 Deluxe Lynnfield Motherboard - Synthetic Tests - Part II

With Lynnfield out, the question of which motherboard you should use for your new 1156 CPU comes to mind. The ASRock P55 Deluxe could be the answer.

| Socket LGA 1156 in Motherboards | Posted: Sep 16, 2009 6:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%Manufacturer: ASRock

Disk Drive Controller

 

The system drive controller is an important part of system performance. In most modern boards your drive controller will run off of the PCI-e bus. The PCI-e bus performance can be affected by poor trace layout as well as many other design choices that show up on different boards.

 

For testing we use both Everest and SiSoft's Sandra.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_36.png

 

For Sandra we did not see much improvement between our overclocked and stock CPUs speeds. The same is true between the Core i7 and Core i5.

 


Our Everest testing only confirms what we saw with SiSoft Sandra. There is very little performance difference between the platforms.

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_37.png

Core i5 750 Stock

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_38.png

Core i5 750 @ 4230MHz

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_39.png

Core i7 870 Stock

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_40.png

Core i7 870 @ 4030MHz

 


Marvell SATA 6G Controller

 

For testing with the SATA 6G controller we used a Kingston SSD Now V+ 128GB SSD drive. We set this up on both the Intel controller and the Marvel. As we mentioned above we hit some performance issues when we ran it in the logical choice of the existing PCI-e x1 slot. This is (according to ASRock) an issue with the way the drivers deal with the Generation 1 PCI-e slot there.

 

However, once we followed their suggestion of putting it in one of the Generation 2 slots our performance went right back up to where it should be, although the Intel SATA controller still is faster. Once we can get our hands on a SATA 6G drive, we will be sure to return to this controller and see what (if any) performance gains there are.

 

Everest

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_41.png

Intel SATA II Controller

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_42.png

Marvell SATA 6G PCI-e Gen 1

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_43.png

Marvell SATA 6G PCI-e Gen 2

 


SiSoft Sandra

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_44.png

Intel SATA II Controller

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_45.png

Marvell SATA 6G PCI-e Gen 1

 

TweakTown image content/2/9/2924_46.png

Marvell SATA 6G PCI-e Gen 2

 

Moving on now to our other tests.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases