TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,250 Reviews & Articles | 40,777 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Rockstar rumored to announce Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas 2 soon

Noctua NH-D15 CPU Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

Noctua NH-D15 CPU Cooler Review
That's right, the Noctua NH-D15 has hit the labs for testing. Let's see if Noctua can claim the top of the heap like its predecessor did in our results.
| CPU Air Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: May 8, 2014 2:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: Noctua

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6313_21_noctua_nh_d15_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

The back plate has been installed; the black spacers dropped on the studs, we added in the brackets to secure the NH-D15, and tightened it all in place with the thumbscrews to make it solid to the motherboard.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6313_22_noctua_nh_d15_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Behind the motherboard we have the main components of the SecuFirm mounting hardware, the Intel back plate. We have it oriented to allow the socket screws to poke through, and it is isolated from the motherboard with a plastic sheet on the flip side and washers at the studs.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6313_23_noctua_nh_d15_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

For testing purposes, we had absolutely no issues with the installation or removal of the GSkill Trident X we use for testing. It is easy to see that even taller heat spreaders will have room, and for ones like these, there is plenty of room for removal without needing to pull the cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6313_24_noctua_nh_d15_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Looking at things much closer, we can see that even the closest slot won't be interfered with by the cooler, and this is true for both sides, so that LGA2011 users reap the same benefits.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6313_25_noctua_nh_d15_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

When we went to reinstall the front fan to the cooler we now plainly see the issue we eluded to earlier, and that is that the fan has to sit much higher than most cases will allow for. Even with the tops of ours removed; the fan still is left sitting 20mm taller than the tips of the pipes, making the NH-D15 now stand 185mm in height.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6313_26_noctua_nh_d15_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

Our point is only exaggerated from this angle as it is easier to see just how much higher the fan at the front sits than the one in the middle does. Of course, we could just try the back of the cooler too for the second fan, but sure to the shield on our motherboard, we couldn't lower the height much there either.

 

TweakTown image content/6/3/6313_27_noctua_nh_d15_cpu_cooler_review.jpg

 

This last image is just to give normal chassis users an idea of what the Noctua NH-D15 might look like through the window of your chassis. Inside of a normal chassis, the cooler will overtake the majority of the top half of the motherboard. Planning out the wiring before mounting the cooler is also a good idea.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases