TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,677 Reviews & Articles | 36,079 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

AKiTiO Thunder Dock Review - eSATA and Firewire for your MacBook Pro

AKiTiO Thunder Dock Review - eSATA and Firewire for your MacBook Pro

AKiTiO is back, adding high performance eSATA and Firewire 800 to your Thunderbolt enabled MacBook. Let's take a look.

| Enclosures/Externals in Storage | Posted: Feb 22, 2014 12:35 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: AKiTiO

TweakTown image content/6/0/6092_99_akitio_thunder_dock_review_esata_and_firewire_for_your_macbook_pro.png

 

Just a few weeks ago, I bit the bullet and purchased the late 2013 MacBook Pro Retina. With the amazingly slim format that is the MBP, it does sacrifice a few connection options. For those that enjoy using your eSATA and Firewire 800 devices, take notice: AKiTiO is aiming to please with their latest product, the Thunder Dock.

 

The Thunder Dock is a hub that takes the throughput of Thunderbolt and switches it, giving an additional two USB 3.0 ports, two eSATA 6Gb/s ports, and a single bus powered Firewire 800 port. In addition, the Thunder Dock has a second Thunderbolt port, allowing daisy chaining of your devices. Compatibility of the AKiTiO Thunder Dock extends to OS X 10.9+. MSRP is set at $269.99, with a one-year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6092_02_akitio_thunder_dock_review_esata_and_firewire_for_your_macbook_pro.jpg

 

Delivered with the AKiTiO, we have a rather large power adapter, along with reading materials, and a Thunderbolt cable.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6092_03_akitio_thunder_dock_review_esata_and_firewire_for_your_macbook_pro.jpg

 

The front edge of the unit houses dual Thunderbolt ports; above, there are two LEDs denoting power and connectivity.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6092_04_akitio_thunder_dock_review_esata_and_firewire_for_your_macbook_pro.jpg

 

Moving to the side of the enclosure, we find dual eSATA ports, and each of these are powered by separate SATA controllers.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6092_05_akitio_thunder_dock_review_esata_and_firewire_for_your_macbook_pro.jpg

 

The back edge of the AKiTiO has dual USB 3.0 ports, along with the bus powered Firewire 800, and power connection.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6092_07_akitio_thunder_dock_review_esata_and_firewire_for_your_macbook_pro.png

 

Above, we have the results from our eSATA testing. Utilizing one of our Seagate 600 Pro SSDs, we were able to garner 301 MB/s write, and 380 MB/s read.

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6092_08_akitio_thunder_dock_review_esata_and_firewire_for_your_macbook_pro.png

 

Next up was the USB 3.0. Again using the Seagate 600 Pro, we were able to achieve 204 MB/s write, followed by 284 MB/s read.

 

TweakTown image content/6/0/6092_09_akitio_thunder_dock_review_esata_and_firewire_for_your_macbook_pro.png

 

Daisy chaining our AKiTiO Neutrino to the Thunder Dock, we found ourselves with 341 MB/s write, and 499 MB/s read.

 

The AKiTiO Thunder Dock is one of those devices you don't know you need, until you go to plug in an old storage device, and quickly realize your new MacBook Pro is out of ports. The build quality of the device is rather fitting of a Mac accessory, and blends quite well into the work environment. The only thing that does throw me off is the rather large power brick for the dock.

 

Performance of the unit was quite good via eSATA, but lacked a little in the USB 3.0 department. However, daisy chaining our Neutrino to the dock gave us great performance. AKiTiO does say that the USB 3.0 ports support UAS in their documentation, so it could be my drives that were slow, but seeing as they were SSDs coming off a fresh secure erase, I'm not completely sold on that idea. At any rate, the performance of the dock in all aspects was great; I love the idea of adding additional storage capabilities to the MBP.

 

MSRP of the AKiTiO Thunder Dock is set at $269.99, with a one-year warranty.

 

 

PRICING: You can find the AKiTiO Thunder Dock for sale below. The prices listed are valid at the time of writing, but can change at any time. Click the link to see the very latest pricing for the best deal.

 

United States: The AKiTiO Thunder Dock retails for $269.98 at Amazon.

 

 

TweakTown image 6/0/6092_1234_akitio_thunder_dock_review_esata_and_firewire_for_your_macbook_pro.png

TweakTown image content/6/0/6092_100_akitio_thunder_dock_review_esata_and_firewire_for_your_macbook_pro.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below