TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,927 Reviews & Articles | 38,179 News Posts

Thermaltake Massive 14 Squared Notebook Cooler Review - Thermaltake Massive 14 Squared Notebook Cooler

Thermaltake Massive 14 Squared Notebook Cooler Review

A pair of new notebook coolers arrived from Thermaltake. First we will have a look at the Massive 14 Squared, and see what it is all about.

| Notebook Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Dec 2, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 91%      Manufacturer: Thermaltake

Thermaltake Massive 14 Squared Notebook Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5910_08_thermaltake_massive_14_squared_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Out of all the packaging, this cooler is obviously black, but there is a mix of plastic around the outside with a large honeycomb mesh used to protect the pair of 140mm fans under it. At the front edge you can see two flip out supports on either side of the painted on Thermaltake name and logo.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5910_09_thermaltake_massive_14_squared_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Getting much closer to get a better idea of how open the structure is as well as being able to see that there are folds added to the mesh to give it added structural support so that the weight of the device sitting on it does not push the mesh into the fan blades.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5910_10_thermaltake_massive_14_squared_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

As for those flip out supports on the front, while the leg is plastic, to keep from damaging a much more expensive laptop when rubbing against it, Thermaltake has added rubber pads to rest against the edge of your laptop.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5910_11_thermaltake_massive_14_squared_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Backing way out, and now moving around to the left side of the cooler, you can see the way it sits; it offers just a slight angle to add a slight ergonomic effect to the keyboard as well as cooling.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5910_12_thermaltake_massive_14_squared_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

As we zoom in much closer on the left side, we find the control panel. There are two USB 2.0 ports, although one needs to be used to make it function. There is also a dial speed controller for the fans, and the tiny switch next to it will allow the LED lighting to be turned on and off.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5910_13_thermaltake_massive_14_squared_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

As for the right side, as well as the back of this Massive cooler, the top extends a bit past the base, and you can see the tunnel the fans can draw through at the back. As for more ports or controls, we saw what was available in the last image.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5910_14_thermaltake_massive_14_squared_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Under the cooler there are protected, but very open intakes for these 140mm fans and allows them to be able to push the sort of rated specs we saw in the beginning. At the front edge there are rubber pads, but at the back, the pads are on the flat side of the pop-out feet.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5910_15_thermaltake_massive_14_squared_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Extending the feet will give you the typical half of an inch increase that we are accustomed to finding in keyboards and other notebook coolers.

 

TweakTown image content/5/9/5910_16_thermaltake_massive_14_squared_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Instead of using some bar system for support like others have tried, Thermaltake takes a different approach to adding a third level of height adjustment. There is an inner section of foot that can still be extended that raised the back of the cooler just over an inch from the stock ride height.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases