TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,671 Reviews & Articles | 36,049 News Posts

Seagate Turbo SSHD Enterprise SSHD Review - 8K Random Read/Write

Seagate Turbo SSHD Enterprise SSHD Review

Seagate's release of the Enterprise Turbo SSHD provides a seamless marriage of flash and platter-based technology. Let's take a close look now. (NASDAQ:STX)

| SSHDs in IT/Datacenter | Posted: Nov 8, 2013 2:01 pm
TweakTown Rating: 94%      Manufacturer: Seagate

8K Random Read/Write

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5863_26_seagate_turbo_sshd_enterprise_sshd_review.png

 

8K random read and write speed is a metric that is not tested for consumer use, but for enterprise environments this is an important aspect of performance. Several workloads rely heavily upon 8K performance and we include this with each evaluation. Many of our Server Emulations below also test 8K performance with various mixed read/write workloads.

 

The average 8K random read speed of the Turbo SSHD weighs in at 596 IOPS. The Enterprise Turbo and MK1401 trail with 525 and 522 IOPS, respectively.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5863_27_seagate_turbo_sshd_enterprise_sshd_review.png

 

The average 8K random write speed of the Turbo SSHD is dominating at 508 IOPS. The MK1401 averages 443 IOPS, and the Enterprise Performance delivers 447 IOPS.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5863_28_seagate_turbo_sshd_enterprise_sshd_review.png

 

The Seagate Enterprise Turbo SSHD leads the pack again in our mixed read/write testing, enjoying a large lead across the various percentages.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5863_29_seagate_turbo_sshd_enterprise_sshd_review.png

 

Once again, the SSHD exhibits a lower latency distribution than the other HDD's.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5863_30_seagate_turbo_sshd_enterprise_sshd_review.png

 

Power consumption for the Turbo SSHD and the Enterprise Performance are very close, with 8.07 and 8.02 Watts, respectively. The MK1401 averages a miserly 7.29 Watts during the measurement window.

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5863_31_seagate_turbo_sshd_enterprise_sshd_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/5/8/5863_32_seagate_turbo_sshd_enterprise_sshd_review.png

 

The Turbo SSHD delivers an incremental increase in IOPS-per-Watt performance over the Enterprise Performance 15K HDD.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more IT/Datacenter content at our IT/Datacenter reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below