TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,975 Reviews & Articles | 38,601 News Posts

Thermaltake Allways Control Notebook Cooler Review - Thermaltake Allways Control Notebook Cooler

Thermaltake Allways Control Notebook Cooler Review

A sleek, yet inventive solution to laptop cooling hits the market as we have our look at the Allways Control from Thermaltake.

| Notebook Coolers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 1, 1970 12:00 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: Thermaltake

Thermaltake Allways Control Notebook Cooler

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5729_09_thermaltake_allways_control_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Fresh out of the box this elegant looking solution has a lot going for it. There is a textured plastic used for the edges, an aluminum plate added to the top that is brushed then anodized black to match the rest of the cooler. Right in the middle side to side, but set back on the cooler, are the pair of fans with the louvers currently blocking the view of the fans under them.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5729_10_thermaltake_allways_control_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

It isn't just one set of louvers for the whole thing either. Each fan has the ability to have its air blowing the opposite direction, both straight up, or both can also be set to blow in the same direction. This will at minimum help you spread the air flow, and definitely take advantage of more of the air coming out of these fans.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5729_11_thermaltake_allways_control_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

This is the left side of the cooler, but I wanted to show the stock angle of the design. This gives users roughly a five degree angle of attack to the keys on the notebook that will sit on top of it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5729_12_thermaltake_allways_control_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Now that I have moved in much closer, we shall cover what this left side offers. There is a variable speed dial to control the fans speeds, a blue LED to indicate the Allways Control is powered, a DC in jack, but there is no cord provided, and lastly there is the mini-USB plug that works with the provided cabling.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5729_13_thermaltake_allways_control_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

In the middle of a large area that is inset from the rest of the plastic frame at the back, there are two levers. While you could just grab the louvers and angle them as needed, I strongly urge you to use the supplied lever to do so, not only is it smoother in operation, but you don't risk breaking one of the louvers this way.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5729_14_thermaltake_allways_control_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Tt Dude decided he would stop at our labs to help with the rest of this review as he is standing in front of the right side of the cooler, now raised much higher with the feet extended. Now users have closer to a ten degree angle of attack, and it will also raise the screen another half of an inch higher, possibly making you sit with better posture as well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5729_15_thermaltake_allways_control_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

Since you are going to give up two USB ports to power this cooler, it only makes sense that you get them back. Not only does Thermaltake replace them, they double it, and these are fully capable of charging mice, battery packs for phones, and even running high-end keyboards.

 

TweakTown image content/5/7/5729_16_thermaltake_allways_control_notebook_cooler_review.jpg

 

The bottom of the cooler is mostly thin until you get near where the fans draw in air. Due to the thickness of the fans inside of this cooler, there has to be room made for them. With this design, it still allows for amble air from the back, even if the feet are left as-is.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases