TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,927 Reviews & Articles | 38,183 News Posts

Transcend RDF8 USB 3.0 Memory Card Reader Review

Transcend RDF8 USB 3.0 Memory Card Reader Review

Transcend's latest card reader, the RDF8, has all the features one would need on the go, and at a great affordable price. Let's dive in and take a look.

| Accessories in Storage | Posted: Jul 26, 2013 6:01 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%      Manufacturer: Transcend

TweakTown image content/5/6/5620_99_transcend_rdf8_usb_3_0_memory_card_reader_review.png

 

As we touched on earlier in our review of the SanDisk ImageMate, card readers have taken on many shapes, sizes and form factors. For those of you that want something for your desktop PC, there is no shortage of units available with internal USB 3.0 headers. For those of you that want something with a touch of portability, we have devices such as the ImageMate and of course, the unit we have today, the Transcend RDF8 USB 3.0 card reader.

 

Transcend has been an innovator and global leader in flash memory technology since their humble beginnings, so it comes as no surprise that their latest take on the portable card reader would make use of all modern memory card form factors. Included in this we have SD, microSD, Compact Flash and Memory Stick. With the purchase of this card reader, Transcend offers a free copy of their exclusive RecoverRX software. The RDF8 carries a two year warranty.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5620_02_transcend_rdf8_usb_3_0_memory_card_reader_review.jpg

 

Included in the scope of delivery, we found a 2ft USB 3.0 cable and of course the reader itself.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5620_03_transcend_rdf8_usb_3_0_memory_card_reader_review.jpg

 

On the front of the reader we have slots for microSD, Secure Digital and Compact Flash.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5620_04_transcend_rdf8_usb_3_0_memory_card_reader_review.jpg

 

The backside of the RDF8 includes the USB 3.0 connection and Memory Stick slot.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5620_05_transcend_rdf8_usb_3_0_memory_card_reader_review.jpg

 

For a quick size comparison, I laid each card reader out in our photo booth. Here we can see the Vantec internal reader being the largest, with the SanDisk and Transcend having the option of portability.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5620_06_transcend_rdf8_usb_3_0_memory_card_reader_review.jpg

 

For testing card readers, I utilize memory cards from SanDisk's Extreme line-up. These cards utilize the latest technology for their respective format.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5620_20_transcend_rdf8_usb_3_0_memory_card_reader_review.png

 

GO TO TOP OF THE NEXT COLUMN ^

 

In testing the Compact Flash capabilities of the RDF8, we found the reader to do quite well. Random read results had the RDF8 out in front of both of our previous readers, while remaining results were tight between the ImageMate and RDF8.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5620_21_transcend_rdf8_usb_3_0_memory_card_reader_review.png

 

Secure Digital testing had all three of our readers fighting for position in random write. After this, we found the Transcend RDF8 slightly quicker in sequential write.

 

TweakTown image content/5/6/5620_22_transcend_rdf8_usb_3_0_memory_card_reader_review.png

 

MicroSD testing had the RDF8 slightly quicker in all read testing, while write testing had all three readers linear.

 

The Transcend RDF8, with its rather small form factor, doubles as both a desktop unit as well as offering the ultimate in portability while travelling. Even with its small footprint and use of plastics, the RDF8 feels quite durable.

 

Performance of the RDF8 was exceptional, in all testing we found it slightly quicker or on par with competing products. The USB 3.0 interface allows full speed transfer of your video and photos, and support of UHS-I and UDMA7 memory cards insures the RDF8 will be compatible with successive generations of memory cards for years to come.

 

At the time of writing, I was able to find the Transcend RDF8 for an amazing low price of $15.99 at Amazon, and at that price it's really hard to go wrong with this product.

 

TweakTown image 5/6/5620_1234_transcend_rdf8_usb_3_0_memory_card_reader_review.png

TweakTown image content/5/6/5620_100_transcend_rdf8_usb_3_0_memory_card_reader_review.png

Right of Reply

We at TweakTown openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion of our content. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases