TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,009 Reviews & Articles | 38,766 News Posts

Cooler Master N200 Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Cooler Master N200 Chassis Review
A tiny chassis with a lot of features. Have a peek at the new N200 mini-tower chassis from Cooler Master.
| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jun 8, 2013 5:07 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Cooler Master

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5521_28_cooler_master_n200_chassis_review.jpg

 

As I was about to install the DVD drive, I had to remove the bezel to do this. The latches for the cover are on the inside of the bezel, and you don't have to worry about the wiring, the front I/O stays with the case as you remove the front bezel.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5521_29_cooler_master_n200_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the bezel back in place you can align the optical drive with it fairly easy. The thing is, if you do plan to use the 5.25" bay, it definitely breaks up the stock look where that bar went all the way down and wasn't so obviously broken up. It still looks good like this though in my opinion, just not as good.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5521_30_cooler_master_n200_chassis_review.jpg

 

Inside things are cramped, but I was able to install all of the typical gear. With a small CPU cooler like this you could put a fan at the top, but larger cooler will conflict with this area. The Radeon HD 7950 has plenty of room left on the right of it, and the PSU went in fine, but wiring the clips to it is tight quarters.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5521_31_cooler_master_n200_chassis_review.jpg

 

At the back, I found the dust shield snapped right into place. The expansion slots line up well, and the screws are easy enough to use. Even with the PSU, everything lined right up and it was easy to send the screws home.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5521_32_cooler_master_n200_chassis_review.jpg

 

Since there isn't a window in this chassis I was less worried about putting the PSU wiring back here. I was able to run all of the front I/O wiring and the SATA cables with ease. It really wouldn't be too hard to get the 24-pin back here or the video card power leads, but the case does lack an 8-pin hole at the top.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5521_33_cooler_master_n200_chassis_review.jpg

 

Now the N200 is all closed back up and ready for testing. If it weren't for the DVD drive sticking through the bezel, there really isn't anything that changes about the looks. If you liked it empty, you are going to like it when the system is built too.

 

TweakTown image content/5/5/5521_34_cooler_master_n200_chassis_review.jpg

 

When I powered on the system, I ran into a question. Why did I have a power LED and an HDD LED when the front of the chassis only offers the flicker of a white LED under the power button to denote the HDD access? Either way, with just a tiny white LED, there is very little lighting to deal with in any environment.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases