TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,140 Reviews & Articles | 39,463 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

ASUS P8Z77-V PREMIUM (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review

ASUS P8Z77-V PREMIUM (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review
We have a look at the expensive and fully loaded ASUS P8Z77-V PREMIUM motherboard.
| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 25, 2013 6:20 am
TweakTown Rating: 96%Manufacturer: ASUS

Introduction

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5262_02_asus_p8z77_v_premium_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The other day we got a chance to look at the ASUS P8Z77-V Pro/Thunderbolt and found ourselves extremely impressed with what ASUS was offering us. Not only did we have a board that performed extremely well out of the box, but we had something with a ton of features that managed to also hit at a really strong price point.

 

If you found yourself liking what ASUS was offering in the P8Z77-V Pro/Thunderbolt, but want even more from your motherboard, the P8Z77-V PREMIUM might be the board you're after. While out of stock at the moment at Newegg, the $449.99 price tag associated with the board makes it the most expensive Z77 option on the market.

 

What makes the board so expensive, though? We intend to find out exactly that today along with checking out the performance as always. As usual we've got to do a few things before we get into the fun stuff. We'll start off by checking out the box of the board and the bundle. Considering the price tag we're expecting quite the bundle and if the size of the box is anything to go by, we should have a decent one.

 

Once we've done that we'll move onto the board and see what is where and what controls everything. We'll head into the BIOS to see what's going on before checking out our testbed setup. We'll take the time to quickly cover the boards that you'll see in our graphs here today before we finally get into the overclocking side of things to see just what this board is capable of doing.

 

 

Package

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5262_03_asus_p8z77_v_premium_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the front of the box we see a typical ASUS design. You can see the model clearly and a number of the main features are highlighted here. Some of the standards out include Smart DIGI+, Thunderbolt, an included 32GB mSATA SSD drive and DTS support.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5262_04_asus_p8z77_v_premium_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

As we flip open the box you can see across the top we've got some of the main ASUS specific features covered in detail. This includes SMART DIGI+ Power Control which includes digital power design and better voltage control. Fan Xpert 2 is also offered which is probably the most advanced fan software we've used to date. We've also got USB 3.0 Boost and SSD Caching II.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5262_05_asus_p8z77_v_premium_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5262_06_asus_p8z77_v_premium_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

You can see as we move down to the bottom of the box we've got the motherboard itself. Turning over we've got a picture of the board showing us some of the highlights along with the main specifications below that. We again also get a run down on some of the major features that are on offer. Thunderbolt is covered here along with mention about the mSATA drive included. You can see Smart DIGI+ is again covered along with Wi-Fi GO! across the bottom of the box.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5262_07_asus_p8z77_v_premium_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5262_08_asus_p8z77_v_premium_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

As we move inside the box the start of the bundle is very common. We've got the normal line up of paperwork along with a driver CD, six SATA cables and main I/O panel. We've got a number of SLI connectors including an extended two way one alongside both 3-way and 4-way options.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5262_09_asus_p8z77_v_premium_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5262_10_asus_p8z77_v_premium_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Like the ASUS P8Z77-V Pro/Thunderbolt we saw the other day we've also got the EZ connectors and Wi-Fi Go! card present here. This one, though, offers us Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n and Bluetooth v4.0 / 3.0 support. Along with that we've also get a second antenna here. Finally we finish off with a dual port USB 3.0 box that can be installed in your case, which is also capable of holding a hard drive.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases