TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,142 Reviews & Articles | 39,479 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

GIGABYTE Z77-HD4 (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review - GIGABYTE Z77-HD4 Motherboard

GIGABYTE Z77-HD4 (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review
We check out an aggressively priced motherboard from GIGABYTE in the form of the Z77-HD4. It surprised us in a good way during our overclocking tests.
| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 20, 2013 4:25 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

GIGABYTE Z77-HD4 Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5259_06_gigabyte_z77_hd4_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Having a look at the GIGABYTE Z77-HD4 you can see straight away we've got a baby blue and white color scheme. We've never been a fan of the color scheme, especially when you compare it to the matte black setup we see on the higher end GIGABYTE options. Considering the lower to mid-range structure of the board, the color scheme doesn't come as a surprise to us.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5259_07_gigabyte_z77_hd4_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving in closer you can see we've got two legacy PCI slots at the bottom and two PCIe x1 slots that sit between two PCIe x16 slots. The top most PCIe x16 slot runs at x16, as you'd expect, while the second one is wired for only x4, which can be seen by the pin count and the "PCIEX4" label towards the front of the slot.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5259_08_gigabyte_z77_hd4_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading across the bottom of the board you're not greeted with any great surprises. Starting from the left you've got the front panel audio header, COM header, TMP header followed up with a 4-pin fan header. Finishing off we've got two USB 2.0 headers and main front panel header.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5259_09_gigabyte_z77_hd4_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Turning the corner you can see we've got a total of six SATA ports. The four blue ones are SATA II while the two white ones are SATA III. All six SATA ports run of the Intel Z77 chipset.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5259_10_gigabyte_z77_hd4_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading towards the top of the board you can see four DIMM slots. We've got support for up to 32GB of DDR3 ranging from 1066MHz DDR to 2800MHz DDR via overclocking. Below them we've got a USB 3.0 header next to another fan header along with the main 24-pin ATX power connector.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5259_11_gigabyte_z77_hd4_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5259_12_gigabyte_z77_hd4_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking around the CPU area you can see the main 8-pin CPU power connector in the top left corner of the board. Moving back a little to look at the CPU socket on a whole you can see not a whole lot is going on. We've got only a single heatsink at the top of the board and apart from that there's not a whole lot else to be seen here. Like most motherboards these days, we've got a clean setup in this part of the board.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5259_13_gigabyte_z77_hd4_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading into the I/O area we've got a standard setup. Starting from the left we've got a combo PS/2 port along with two of the four total USB 2.0 ports. Video connectivity comes in the form of VGA, DVI, HDMI and DisplayPort. We've got two USB 3.0 ports, Gigabit networking via the Realtek controller and three auxiliary ports running off the Realtek ALC887.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases