TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,052 Reviews & Articles | 38,922 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win a Biostar J1800NH2 Motherboard (Global Entry!)

ASRock H77 Pro4/MVP (Intel H77) Motherboard Review - ASRock H77 Pro4/MVP Motherboard

ASRock H77 Pro4/MVP (Intel H77) Motherboard Review
Moving away from the more expensive Z77 chipset, we take a look at the cheaper H77 chipset on an ASRock board today.
| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Feb 21, 2013 6:06 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%Manufacturer: ASRock

ASRock H77 Pro4/MVP Motherboard

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5207_06_asrock_h77_pro4_mvp_intel_h77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving away from the bundle and onto the board you can see we've got a fairly plain setup. We've got that typical brown colored PCB which isn't very sexy and you can see a fairly bland heatsink setup. We'll look at this closer in just a moment.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5207_07_asrock_h77_pro4_mvp_intel_h77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving in closer to the board we can see the expansion slot side of things. While we have two PCIe x16 slots, the H77 chipset can't split the x16 slot into an x8/x8 configuration. What this means is that this dual slot PCIe x16 setup comes in at x16 / x4. While CrossFire is on offer, if you really wanted to make use of it, I say spend the money on a more expensive Z77 board, so that you can at least get x8 / x8.

 

Alongside the two x16 PCIe slots you can see the far left gives us a single PCIe x1 slot and three legacy PCI slots. It's not the greatest expansion slot setup with a lot of older legacy PCI slots on offer. With less PCIe lanes to play with, though, this is about all we could expect ASRock to come up with here.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5207_08_asrock_h77_pro4_mvp_intel_h77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Heading across the bottom of the board we continue with a fairly simple setup. We've got HD Audio, COM1 and USB 2.0 headers along with a few fan headers and the main front panel header.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5207_09_asrock_h77_pro4_mvp_intel_h77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

As we turn the corner you can see our fairly standard SATA setup with a total of six SATA ports being present. We've got four black ones which are SATA II and two grey ones which are SATA III. All six of these ports run off the Intel H77 chipset.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5207_10_asrock_h77_pro4_mvp_intel_h77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

As we head to the top half of the board you can see a further two SATA ports in a slightly unusual position. These are two more SATA III ports that operate off the ASMedia ASM1061 controller. Above you can see a USB 3.0 header while to the right you can see the main 24-pin ATX power connector. Above that we've got four DIMM slots which support up to 32GB of DDR3 with speeds ranging from 1066MHz DDR to 1600MHz DDR.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5207_11_asrock_h77_pro4_mvp_intel_h77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5207_12_asrock_h77_pro4_mvp_intel_h77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

As we head around to the CPU area you can see the 8-pin CPU connector at the top of the board with a fan header next to it. As we move back a bit to look at the CPU area you can see not much at all is going on. We've got a small heatsink across the top of the board, but apart from that, nothing much else.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5207_13_asrock_h77_pro4_mvp_intel_h77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Finally we finish off with the I/O side of things and starting from the left you can see a PS/2 port along with six USB 2.0 ports. We've got a DVI-D, VGA and HDMI connector for video out along with two USB 3.0 ports and Gigabit networking via the Realtek RTL8111E controller. Finally we finish off with five auxiliary connectors and an optical out which run off the Realtek ALC892.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases