TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,013 Reviews & Articles | 38,785 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

Sony Xperia Tablet S Review - Performance

Sony Xperia Tablet S Review
We take a look at Sony's Xperia Tablet S, the first Sony tablet to enter the TweakTown labs. Has it got what it takes to earn your hard-earned dollars?
| Tablets in Mobile Devices | Posted: Feb 15, 2013 11:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 73%Manufacturer: Sony

Performance

 

I talked about mixing up the Mobile Devices reviews, so we're going to introduce some benchmarks now. I've decided to go with Kishonti Informatic's popular GLBenchmark - using their Egypt 2.1 Classic Offscreen benchmark. Being an offscreen benchmark, it runs the test at 1080p, so no matter what device we review, it gives us a nice even result to work with.

 

We also used GLBenchmark's Fill rate test, as well as their Battery test. We also used Aurora Softworks' Quadrant Professional, running their Full Benchmark and its total score results.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_35_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.png

 

As we can see in GLBenchmark's Egypt 2.1 Classic test, the Tablet S performs a little better than the cheaper Nexus 7, but gets demolished by the Nexus 4 smartphone.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_36_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.png

 

Moving onto the Fill rate test, the Tablet S loses to the Nexus 7 and Nexus 10. We see the Nexus 4 pull away by a large margin here, nearly doubling the other two devices.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_37_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.png

 

Moving onto Quadrant Professional we see some more devices thrown into the mix from our previous reviews, where the Tablet S sits just in front of the Nexus 7, and far out in front of the Galaxy Tab 8.9 4G from Samsung. The Nexus 4 stomps all over it again, and ASUS' Transformer Pad Infinity just rubs the Tablet S' nose in it.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_38_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.png

 

The Tablet S has to win at something, right? Well, when it comes to battery life - the Tablet S has it in spades thanks to its bigger form factor and included 6,000mAh battery. The Tablet S is miles ahead in terms of battery life, with GLBenchmark's Battery test showing 5.15 hours of life, compared to the Nexus 4 and Nexus 7 which saw 2.2 and 3.17 hours, respectively.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_20_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

Thanks to the NVIDIA Tegra 3 SoC cranking along inside, the Tablet S is no performance slouch. Pure hardware specifications are only one side of the story, as the software side of things needs to be improved. Shipping with just Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich is, while better than shipping with an older version, not anywhere near as good as Android 4.1 or 4.2 Jelly Bean.

 

So while the hardware inside may be a Tegra 3 SoC, it doesn't feel anywhere near as smooth as the cheaper Nexus 7 tablet from ASUS and Google. This is thanks to the Tablet S not including Jelly Bean and its performance-enhancing Project Butter.

 

Finishing up our look at the performance of the Tablet S, we'll take a look at its camera's abilities. First up we have a few shots I took with the Tablet S.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_30_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_31_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_32_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

Let's test out the Tablet S' panorama abilities, I took two shots in this mode which both came out well.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_33_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5200_34_sony_xperia_tablet_s_review.jpg

 

Below, we have some video samples.

 

 

 

I don't like taking videos with a tablet, but the Tablet S is like most tablets taking video - mediocre. It's not the best, and it's not absolute crap, either.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Mobile Devices content at our Mobile Devices reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases