TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,245 Reviews & Articles | 40,712 News Posts

Mushkin Atlas 480GB mSATA SSD Review - Mushkin Atlas 480GB mSATA SSD

Mushkin breaks the mold with brilliant engineering and doubles the highest capacity ever offered on an mSATA form factor SSD.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Dec 5, 2012 6:05 pm
TweakTown Rating: 92%Manufacturer: Mushkin

Mushkin Atlas 480GB mSATA SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5102_03111_mushkin_atlas_480gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

The 480GB capacity size fits in the same packaging as the standard Atlas drives.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5102_04111_mushkin_atlas_480gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

Mushkin ships these in plastic, retail friendly packages so we may see them on store shelves at some point.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5102_05111_mushkin_atlas_480gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the actual mSATA drive. From this angle it's difficult to tell the dual PCB design. Mushkin did a very good job of keeping the overall size down.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5102_06111_mushkin_atlas_480gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

There are eight NAND chips spread across two PCBs.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5102_07111_mushkin_atlas_480gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

A single LSI SandForce SF-2281 controller keeps the data flowing.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5102_08111_mushkin_atlas_480gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

Three connectors pass data and power to the daughter board.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5102_09111_mushkin_atlas_480gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

This is the first time we've seen anyone even attempt a dual PCB design for mSATA.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5102_10_mushkin_atlas_480gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

In our Lenovo W530 the Mushkin Atlas 480GB fit perfectly. The metal inner structure even kept the keyboard from coming in direct contact with the mSATA drive. I'm not going to go as far as to say this design will fit in every notebook or ultrabook, but we had room to spare in our Lenovo W530 test laptop.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5102_11111_mushkin_atlas_480gb_msata_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we see the 480GB Atlas with two PCBs next to a standard LSI SandForce based mSATA drive.

 

A few weeks back I 'cleaned' my garage. I wanted to whip out the digital calipers to give an exact height of the stacked Atlas, but like every other time I've cleaned my garage, it'll take a year to figure out where I put the tools I rarely use.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases