TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,158 Reviews & Articles | 39,578 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Star Citizen creator: "I don't care about consoles"

ASUS SABERTOOTH Z77 (Intel Z77) Motherboard Review

The SABERTOOTH name is back and we check it out with the Intel Z77 chipset.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: Aug 10, 2012 6:44 am
TweakTown Rating: 98%Manufacturer: ASUS

Introduction

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4878_02_asus_sabertooth_z77_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

When I first saw the SABERTOOTH line of motherboard with the Intel P67 chipset I loved the whole look that ASUS was going for with it. We saw when they released the AMD based 990FX and Intel X79 chipsets that they removed the TUF Thermal Armor which was the stand out feature for me.

 

When we got first sign of the SABERTOOTH Z77, though, it was awesome to see that the TUF Thermal Armor had been re-introduced. Outside of the TUF Thermal Armor we've got a whole lot of other features on the SABERTOOTH line of boards which we'll take a closer look at when we check out the package.

 

As always, though, there are a number of things we've got to do before we look at the performance side of things. The first thing we're going to do is dive into the package and see what exactly the SABERTOOTH Z77 brings to the table while we also cover some of the major features that are present.

 

Once we've done that we'll check out the motherboard and see exactly what's going on with the board before we move into the BIOS to see how that looks on the SABERTOOTH Z77. We'll then take the time to quickly cover our testbed today before we have a look at the overclocking side to things to see just what kind of performance we can get before we finally check the actual performance via our benchmark lineup.

 

 

Package

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4878_03_asus_sabertooth_z77_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4878_04_asus_sabertooth_z77_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking at the front of the box we can see some of the main features which include Lucid Virtu MVP support while the big one is that the TUF Series brings with it a five year warranty. Starting to move inside we get a better idea what being a TUF series board brings to the table starting with the Thermal Armor which helps control the airflow of what's going on with the board.

 

Next up we've got the Thermal Radar technology which helps track the temperature of the board area along with the Dust Defender technology. Finally on the top half of the box you can see we've got TUF components which brings with it higher quality components, just as you'd expect.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4878_05_asus_sabertooth_z77_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4878_06_asus_sabertooth_z77_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Looking across the bottom half of the box you can see we've got some of the more ASUS specific features which include DIGI+ Power Control, USB BIOS Flashback and Network iControl. The back of the box quickly covers some of the main features again while the bottom gives us a run down on the main specifications of the board.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4878_07_asus_sabertooth_z77_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Moving inside the package you can see we've got a fair bit going on starting with the normal user guide, information on the Thermal Armor technology and how to set it up along with a Certificate of Reliability cover the SABERTOOTH features along with a driver CD.

 

Across the bottom we've got four SATA III cables, two SATA II cables, I/O back plate, SLI bridge, EZ connectors and two fans which we'll talk about a little later when we take a closer look at the motherboard itself.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4878_08_asus_sabertooth_z77_intel_z77_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Finally the last part of the package is the dust guards you can see above. A lot of them give you a fairly good idea of what's going on, but to see exactly how they work, we'll need to use them in conjunction with the board itself which we'll again take a closer look at when we move over to the next page.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases