TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,200 Reviews & Articles | 40,019 News Posts

Fractal Design Define R4 Black Pearl Mid-Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Fractal Design heard the masses and took the Define R3 back to the drawing board to bring us the Define R4 Black Pearl.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jul 23, 2012 6:13 am
TweakTown Rating: 98%Manufacturer: Fractal Design

The build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4844_31_fractal_design_define_r4_black_pearl_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Don't get confused that this panel needs removed to be able to install the optical drives because the access is given from the front for that. Here I just wanted to show that all of the wiring is attached to the front bezel and give you a good look at the dust filter on the front of the steel part of the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4844_32_fractal_design_define_r4_black_pearl_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the front bezel and door back on the chassis, I removed the top 5.25" bay cover by releasing the latch on the right side of it and slid the DVD drive into the chassis. To secure it you will need to use at least one thumbscrew to keep it from sliding around.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4844_33_fractal_design_define_r4_black_pearl_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once everything was installed I snapped this image. Even with the drive bays in place the HD 7950 would have fit without any issues, but since my build system has an SSD, I didn't need a single one of the hard drive bays to get the build completed.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4844_34_fractal_design_define_r4_black_pearl_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

In the back the Define R4 fills out as any chassis would. The rear I/O dust shield fits well and the card aligns well. I also like the isolation padding provided for the PSU installation to keep it from making any noises against the chassis.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4844_35_fractal_design_define_r4_black_pearl_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

All of the wiring tidies up very nice and makes for a very clean build without any real effort involved. I really like the hideaway SSD mounting in the motherboard tray. This allows me to not need the HDD bays and I can get them right out of the way. Mind you, you do need to install the SSD prior to the motherboard to have access to the mounting holes.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4844_36_fractal_design_define_r4_black_pearl_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

When the chassis is reassembled and ready for the testing phase, there isn't anything that changes externally except for the back of the chassis. I can really appreciate a chassis that keeps its looks in any situation.

 

TweakTown image content/4/8/4844_37_fractal_design_define_r4_black_pearl_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once the chassis is powered you get the light glow of the ring around the power button. Since there wasn't an HDD activity LED connection, the light under the power button that illuminates will also be on all the time the Define R4 has power.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases