TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,209 Reviews & Articles | 40,187 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: GTA V will have 'just for PC' features, including a video editor

BitFenix Merc Alpha Mid Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

Watch out! BitFenix released a pair of Mercs that do the job in the mid tower realm for next to nothing.

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 26, 2011 8:07 am
TweakTown Rating: 89%Manufacturer: BitFenix

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4445_25_bitfenix_merc_alpha_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the build now completed we take a look at the finished results. In the front the drive sits inset fo the bezel as the curve goes from side to side. From other angles it is noticeably there, but from straight on, the drive installation doesn't detract from the original design.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4445_26_bitfenix_merc_alpha_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Everything went into the Merc Alpha as you would expect it too. I had the Os on a 2.5" drive, but didn't want to put it on the floor. Using a couple of the extra holes I was able to securely screw the one side of it into the 3.5" rack. As far as everything else, for a mid tower with no room behind the tray, the wiring is clean and there is still room for more.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4445_27_bitfenix_merc_alpha_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

There is a cover over all of the screws for the expansion cards. This cover locks into the chassis with tabs, but it also gets screwed into one of the holes the cards use while another screw comes from the inside to be sure no one can tamper with your setup.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4445_28_bitfenix_merc_alpha_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

As far as the rest of the rear of the Merc, there is little to report. The rear I/O area is a bit snug as it took me a bit to force the cover into the hole. As always, though, I came out the winner in that one. Removing the slot covers takes a twist of the steel and the will eventually break free allowing for the cards to be installed.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4445_29_bitfenix_merc_alpha_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I wasn't too particular with the wiring since the door panel hinges on the front of the chassis as they close. Tying all of the front I/O wiring together, running the SATA cables over them and the fat 24-pin cable are no issue for room here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4445_30_bitfenix_merc_alpha_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I figured I would take this image as I powered up the system for those of you who were wondering what sort of view is available through the side panel mesh.

 

TweakTown image content/4/4/4445_31_bitfenix_merc_alpha_mid_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Stepping back to take it all in once again, the Merc Alpha is understated even under power. There is a bright glow of blue for the HDD activity and power LEDs, but facing up will keep them from accidentally blinding you.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases