TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,671 Reviews & Articles | 36,049 News Posts

Thermalright Shaman VGA Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

My first foray into Thermalright coolers and it just so happens to be the Shaman VGA cooler.

| Video Card Colers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 9, 2011 3:50 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: Thermalright

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_22_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

The victim is the same and this time I skipped right ahead to its prepped state so we can move right along into the installation. After the GPU IHS is cleaned you need to take some time and make sure the oils and gunk that the stock cooler leaves on the memory and phase chips is completely removed. If you don't have a "cleaner" off the shelf, look into alcohol and an eraser from a #2 pencil as the way to be sure they are prepped correctly.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_23_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

I went ahead and installed all of the heatsinks to the components as shown in the instructions. When I went to test the card, I realized I had an issue, and via emails and some replacement heatsinks I was able to fix my issue.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_24_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

When I tested the card I realized the phase sinks had fallen off, and looking into it a bit more I found I had a pair of caps in the way. C98 and C121 were causing an issue where the heatsinks were hitting them and not contacting the phase chips. This way of mounting offers cooling and clearance, so if you have a GTX 470, keep this in mind.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_25_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

I now have the studs installed into the proper set of mounting holes and have placed the rubber spacers on them. We are almost ready to install this bad boy!

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_26_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

As I mentioned, before adding the fan to the top of the fins, you need to remove the paper backing and tape the anti-vibration strips to the outer edge of the fins of both sides.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_27_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

At this point the cooler is now mounted and ready for us to absorb its enormity. The Shaman offers plenty of clearance for caps and power plugs all the way around, except the end where the pipes come out, and is why Thermalright sends the flat heatsinks. There is no way I could have used the taller flame shaped heatsinks on these three ICs.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_28_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

The back plate and nuts are easy to install and tighten into place. The back plate offers plenty of clearance around the back of the GPU and didn't cause me any issues as the legs extend to the mounting holes. There isn't a specified amount of pressure to look for with these screws, so it may take a bit of playing around with the tension to get the best results.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_29_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

This shot was after I had the card installed and ready to test. As you can see, the heat sink from my phase chips had fallen off and is now stuck to the fins on the cooler. Another thing to mention here if it hasn't already sunken in, is that now you can definitely see this is a full four slots of cooler and fan!

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4283_30_thermalright_shaman_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Here we have the Shaman as I installed it before powering it up. You can see that this cooler is going to encompass most of the room left in any mid tower, and even in the 600T SE it is taking up a lot more room than I had expected when I first got the cooler.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below