TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,447 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme Plus II VGA Cooler Review - Installation and Finished Product

Arctic Cooling has updated its Accelero Xtreme Plus with a new version. Let's see how well it can cool today's top end graphics cards.

| Video Card Colers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 1, 2011 2:42 pm
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: Arctic Cooling

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_26_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

The card we are going to be testing the AC Accelero Extreme Plus II on is the vanilla eVGA GTX 470 from my spare PC.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_27_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Here is the 470 all stripped and ready for the new cooler. Something to note, the white stuff still on the RAM chips are from the original tube of thermal adhesive. I have a couple more GPU coolers coming soon, so we will see how this new G-1 is to remove too.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_28_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Using the pads that come in the VR003 kit, I applied them to the card and I am now ready to install the cooler.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_29_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

The cooler installs with three screws and you've got to be gentle as the threads are aluminum, but I still had no issues getting this heat sink mounted securely. Just be careful not to over tighten this.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_30_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

In the kit there is this set of screws along with the paper washers to keep the screws from damaging the PCB, or possibly grounding out to anything.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_31_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

The two packages on the left are what makes up the G-1 adhesive compound and is said to be much better and easier to release than the original equipment. The tube on the right is the original equipment and is what's left all of the residue on my chips.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_32_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

I used the parts tray from the inner packaging of the heat sinks to mix the two packs of liquids together. They are obviously different colors to make you mix this for one consistent color. This way you know you have a good mix of materials.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_33_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Before I put all of the heat sinks on, I thought I should show some of the G-1 applied to the chips. With a spreader that wasn't included in my kit, you simply spread a thin layer of the material on the chip. If you set the heat sink on gently, it will allow for movement to align it, but once you press it onto the chip, it is much tougher to move and relocate.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases