TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,144 Reviews & Articles | 39,491 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme Plus II VGA Cooler Review - Accessories and Documentation

Arctic Cooling has updated its Accelero Xtreme Plus with a new version. Let's see how well it can cool today's top end graphics cards.

| Video Card Colers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Aug 1, 2011 2:42 pm
TweakTown Rating: 87%Manufacturer: Arctic Cooling

Accessories and Documentation

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_18_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

While I know the power wiring of the fans isn't an accessory, it does lead into the next image we will see. Arctic Cooling has used a 4-pin mini connector for use with GPU stock fan plugs, or the option of the 3-pin that works with an adapter for power.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_19_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Part of the accessories that come with the Accelero XP II are what you see here. There is a bag with pre-cut thermal pads in it, that fan power adapter I mentioned, the mounting hardware and expansion slot cover, and the new G-1 glue for the memory heat sinks.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_20_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

These are all the heat sinks that come shipped in the box. Since there is multi-card compatibility, some of these you will use, some you won't; it depends on the model of the card you are using.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_21_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

The front side of the instruction sheet covers the parts list, the preparation of the card and starts the installation process. All of this is easy to follow with good explanations and excellent drawings to make the installation as easy to understand as possible.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_22_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

The back of the instructions cover the new G-1's application, pressure time, and the five hour cure time of this material. Moving over to the phase area of the card, you are just a few screws and plugging in the fan away from completion.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_23_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Just like the original, to use this cooler with my GTX 470, I needed the additional VR003 hardware kit boxed here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_24_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

These come with their own instructions and at this point it is where things differed. Since you got the new cooler, don't use the RAM sink compound in this kit; refer to the original set of instructions for that.

 

TweakTown image content/4/2/4218_25_arctic_cooling_accelero_xtreme_plus_ii_vga_cooler_review.jpg

 

Here is the kit that comes inside. You get the tube of "paste", a new mounting bracket and a full set of new heat sinks for the specific cards listed on the front.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases