TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,139 Reviews & Articles | 39,461 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

ASUS P8Z68-V Pro (Intel Z68) Motherboard Review - BIOS

Our first ASUS Z68 board arrives and we don't waste any time. Let's see what the P8Z68-V Pro brings to the table.

| Socket LGA 1155 in Motherboards | Posted: May 23, 2011 3:50 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: ASUS

BIOS

 

I'm a big fan of the UEFI BIOS and the ASUS one would have to be one of the most attractive options that I've seen to date. When you first enter the BIOS you go into "EZ Mode" and it gives you some of the main health readouts, the ability to adjust system performance with three presets and change the boot priority by simply using your mouse to drag and drop the icons.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4105_15_asus_p8z68_v_pro_intel_z68_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4105_16_asus_p8z68_v_pro_intel_z68_motherboard_review.png

 

If you find yourself wanting to get down and dirty with the BIOS and see what's really going on, you can go to the Exit / Advanced button and change over to advanced mode where all the fun options are. The first screen you'll be greeted with is the Main one and that just gives you a little rundown of some of the main numbers.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4105_17_asus_p8z68_v_pro_intel_z68_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4105_18_asus_p8z68_v_pro_intel_z68_motherboard_review.png

 

Moving over to Ai Tweaker, you can begin to start to edit the options of your board and really start to overclock. Here you can also use "OC Tuner" which will automatically find a stable overclock without having to do anything more than just watch your system restart itself a few times. We made use of this function and we'll talk about it more on the next page when we discus overclocking.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4105_19_asus_p8z68_v_pro_intel_z68_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4105_20_asus_p8z68_v_pro_intel_z68_motherboard_review.png

 

Going into Advanced, you of course get those more advanced options that revolve around enabling and disabling features and RAID mode to name a few things. If you're overclocking you may find yourself disabling some things or if you've opted for your own sound card or something similar you may find yourself disabling features like onboard audio.

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4105_21_asus_p8z68_v_pro_intel_z68_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4105_22_asus_p8z68_v_pro_intel_z68_motherboard_review.png

 

TweakTown image content/4/1/4105_23_asus_p8z68_v_pro_intel_z68_motherboard_review.png

 

Moving across to our final three sections; Monitor, Boot and Tool, you can see from the above screenshots exactly what these areas do. Overall, it's a really nice, clean BIOS and you've got all the features you'll need if you want to really mess around with overclocking abilities yourself or just choose to make use of the "OC Tuner" feature that's found within the Ai Tweaker section of the BIOS.

 

This is also the first time I made use of the built-in Print Screen feature and I've got to say, it's absolutely fantastic. With a USB drive formatted to FAT32 plugged in prior to starting the system, all you have to do is hit F12, and then it just asks where you want to save it to. This is a great option for overclockers who want to share their settings with people in a clean and easy to read format. You'll probably want to resave them, though, as they do come out as 2.2MB BMP images.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases