TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,138 Reviews & Articles | 39,438 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Win an Antec Case, PSU and Cooler (Global Entry!)

Thermaltake V9 BlacX Edition Mid Tower Chassis - The Build and Finished Product

We see the V9 BlacX Edition is getting rave reviews, so now is the time where we get to see what all the hype is about!

| Mid-Tower Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Mar 25, 2011 4:50 am
TweakTown Rating: 95%Manufacturer: Thermaltake

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3953_26_thermaltake_v9_blacx_edition_mid_tower_chassis.jpg

 

Removing the front bezel I am very happy not to see any wires coming from the inside. This will make changing drives or cleaning the intake fan much easier. This is also the first we get to see of the intake fan assembly. The fan gets screwed into the back of the filter and housing, and then the whole thing is held into place with the large screw on the left of it.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3953_27_thermaltake_v9_blacx_edition_mid_tower_chassis.jpg

 

Once the drive is installed and the appropriate cover is removed, you simply push the bezel back in place and lock the six tabs back into the steel frame. With the basic looks of the front of the V9, the drive doesn't break up any lines or color patterns, and therefore doesn't take away from the appeal of the design.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3953_28_thermaltake_v9_blacx_edition_mid_tower_chassis.jpg

 

Everything went into place nicely except for the VGA. When I went to install my dual slot card, it just didn't seem to fit quite right. I then noticed a plastic support in the mechanism between the first and second locks that was causing my clearance issue. It wasn't anything I couldn't sort out with a pair of pliers, but something I think got overlooked in the design.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3953_29_thermaltake_v9_blacx_edition_mid_tower_chassis.jpg

 

The rear of the V9 fills out nicely, and notice the VGA is straight in the slot. Not only does this mechanism support the weight of the card, but locks it very securely compared to others I have seen.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3953_30_thermaltake_v9_blacx_edition_mid_tower_chassis.jpg

 

Behind the scenes I only really needed to run the power adapter from the top fan behind the tray, and this is purely for looks, I could have easily wired it up front. If you look at the bottom by the drives, you can see the 4-pin Molex lead from the PSU goes right behind the drive bays without any issues to the door fitting back on.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3953_31_thermaltake_v9_blacx_edition_mid_tower_chassis.jpg

 

Powered up the V9 BlacX has a nice glow of blue LEDs from the front intake fan. That paired with the HDD activity light and the power LED, the case comes alive with little noise, and just a bit more flash.

 

TweakTown image content/3/9/3953_32_thermaltake_v9_blacx_edition_mid_tower_chassis.jpg

 

Time to clone an OS to this build and see what I think after a bit of use! I figured for me it was much easier to use the dock for this, then to have to install the drive internally just to remove it later.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases