TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,931 Reviews & Articles | 38,204 News Posts

IN WIN IW-PP689 Pedestal Performance Server Chassis - Accessories and Documentation

IN WIN gets into server chassis builds and offers the IW-PP689 Server Chassis.

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Jan 10, 2011 12:54 pm
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: IN WIN

Accessories and Documentation

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3769_24.jpg

 

Just grabbed all the fans to show what they were in case you wanted to try your luck at finding the proper specifications. All four of the included fans are 38mm deep and use a 4-pin PWN connector for power.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3769_25.jpg

 

I removed the 80mm fan from its housing, again so you can clearly read the model number.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3769_26.jpg

 

The plastic shroud that covers the CPU and memory area may or may not fit when using various motherboards and coolers. I found with my install, even with the tabs removed at the edge for wiring to pass through the cover, I found the 45° baffle in the middle hit the CPU cooler and would not go into place. As I said this varies per install and if it can be used, the shroud will be very beneficial to your cooling of those components covered by it.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3769_27.jpg

 

To remove the hard drive sled, simply press the silver tab to the right, and the teal blue handle pops out, and then you simply slide it out. To mount a drive in these, screws provided go into the drive from the bottom and not the sides for these trays.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3769_28.jpg

 

As for included hardware, this is what I received. Inside of a larger bag, these four bags containing optical drive screws, hard drive screws, motherboard risers and screws, and a bag with the keys to the front door is what I got.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3769_29.jpg

 

I disassembled the hot-swap bays so that I could show you what the PCB offers. This side is the back or the side closest to the motherboard when installed. Here there are all the jumpers you may need to set depending on what type of drives or the setup and configuration you want to achieve. There is also a connection for use with SAS or a RAID card, and not the typical SATA connections of a gamers chassis. There are two Molex connectors to power this assembly with a fan header provided to power the 80mm Sans Ace fan that goes onto the cage.

 

TweakTown image content/3/7/3769_30.jpg

 

Reversing the PCB, we are now looking at the drive connectivity. As you can see, this bay is built to supply up to four drives with hot-swappable connectivity.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases