TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,006 Reviews & Articles | 38,760 News Posts

Sapphire Radeon HD 6850 TOXIC Video Card - Card and Specifications

Sapphire brings us the newly launched HD 6850 TOXIC. We see if the winning formula continues to work for Sapphire with the new 6000 series.

| AMD Radeon GPU in Video Cards | Posted: Nov 16, 2010 7:17 am
TweakTown Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Sapphire

The Card

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3655_06.jpg

 

Looking at the card, it's easy to think that you're looking at a HD 6870 with that more typical cylinder cooler being used here. Sapphire obviously feels it'll be better than the other cooler they used and it will be interesting to see how it goes.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3655_07.jpg

 

First you've got this HD 6870-like cooler and now you've got two 6-Pin PCI-E power connectors. I really did think for a second that Sapphire sent me the wrong card and that this was a HD 6870. Because the cards are designed by the AIBs themselves and not AMD, they're able to do what they want and Sapphire seem to want to give us a bit more options when it comes to power. It'll be interesting to see how this affects the power draw numbers.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3655_08.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3655_09.jpg

 

Across the top we've got a single CrossFire connector and the front again looks like a HD 6870 with the Dual Link and Single Link DVI, HDMI port and two Mini DisplayPort connectors.

 

Just before the review went live Sapphire sent us updated images of the TOXIC card. Youll find them below.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3655_90.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3655_91.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3655_92.jpg

 

Specifications

 

Being part of the TOXIC series, the card of course comes overclocked. Being part of the TOXIC series means it's not normally just a little 10MHz bump as well, and once we fired up GPU-Z we were pretty happy with the numbers that Sapphire offered us.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3655_01.gif

 

The core comes in at 820MHz which is a nice bump from the stock 775MHz clock. As for the 1GB of GDDR5, that's gone from 4000MHz QDR to 4400MHz QDR. We should see some nice performance from the card here, so it'll be interesting to see how it compares against a stock HD 6850 as well as a stock HD 6870.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Video Cards content at our Video Cards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases