TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,920 Reviews & Articles | 38,141 News Posts

Arctic Cooling Accelero XTREME Plus VGA Cooler - Installation and Finished Product

The Accelero XTREME Plus blows stock cooling out of the water. Speaking of which, it cools almost as well as water; come have a look.

| Video Card Colers in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Nov 1, 2010 3:16 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: Arctic Cooling

Installation and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3620_17.jpg

 

The test subject! This is my vanilla EVGA GTX 470 1280MB card and we will be stripping off this stock cooler and installing the AC Accelero in just a few short steps.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3620_18.jpg

 

After removal of the stock cooler and preparing the card as per the instructions, I went ahead and applied the thermal adhesive to the memory ICs and added the silicon rubber covering the voltage regulators. Now we just need to get the heatsinks on.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3620_19.jpg

 

The memory heatsinks require a bit if pressure to set the heatsink well. The instructions say to keep pressure for a certain length of time and then to wait for an hour for the epoxy to fully set. I added the plate for the voltage circuitry and was screwing it in and heard a bit of a crunch. Come to find out, I was actually bottoming out the plate on a few resistors. Be careful when you apply yours as to not damage any of the taller components on the PCB.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3620_20.jpg

 

To mount the plate, all you need are the three washers and screws and a Phillip's screwdriver. The heatsink is open in the middle to allow the fans to blow air through the factory holes in the 470s PCB. Any way to get rid of extra heat on these cards is of benefit, so I am happy to see additions such as this.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3620_21.jpg

 

Mounting the XTREME plus to the card was a breeze. With the pre-applied compound I just grabbed the set of four screws and washers and got the cooler into place with no clearance issues with any of the memory heatsinks that I have found on other coolers.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3620_22.jpg

 

The length of this cooler is no joke, and in some mid towers this may not even fit in your case. As you can see, it dwarfs the length of my 470 and is even a bit longer than the GTX 480. When looking for room to improve cooling capabilities, since they are already using three slots, the only place to go was out the end of the card.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3620_23.jpg

 

Here is what the Arctic Cooling Accelero XTREME Plus will look when it is installed in your machine.

 

If it wasn't so apparent before, you can see that bracket is hovering well over one slot higher than the fans are sitting.

 

TweakTown image content/3/6/3620_25.jpg

 

I just wanted to end things with a glamour shot of the Arctic Cooling Accelero XTREME Plus.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases