TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,253 Reviews & Articles | 40,835 News Posts

ASRock P55 Extreme4 (P55 Express) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

We take a look at one of the first Intel boards with more than two USB 3.0 and SATA 3.0 ports; the ASRock P55 Extreme4.

| Socket LGA 1156 in Motherboards | Posted: Sep 20, 2010 4:54 pm
TweakTown Rating: 89%Manufacturer: ASRock

BIOS

 

The P55 Extrerme4 follows the basic AMI BIOS layout with a few extras thrown in by ASRock. The setup is laid out in a tab-like format with the major headings along the top.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3530_15.png

 

Most overclockers and even a few regular users will be hanging out in the OC Tweaker page (and sub-pages). Here is where the majority of the performance tweaks and settings are found. It is also where the EZ overclocking tools are located.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3530_16.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3530_17.png

 

The CPU EZ OC Settings are simple to use; pick the speed you want to run at, then hit Enter. From there the system will set what it thinks are the proper voltages for that speed and the CPU you are using.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3530_18.png

 

At the bottom of the OC Tweaker page are slots to save your favorite overclocks.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3530_19.png

 

There are also a few more tweaks available on the CPU settings sub-menu under the Advanced tab.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3530_20.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3530_21.png

 

The chipset and storage configuration is also handled on the Advanced page, along with the controls for the USB devices on the board.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3530_22.png

 

The Hardware Monitor page gives you quick access to what is going on with the P55 Extreme4 and also lets you set up different profiles for the fan headers on the board.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3530_23.png

 


Overclocking

 

Overclocking the P55 Extreme4 was the work of a few settings changed in the BIOS. All I did was to use the CPU EZ OC setting and crank it up to 4GHz. From there I worked backwards to my final OC of 180x22 for a 3.953GHz clock. I left the voltages the same as were set for the 4GHz clock without any side effects. With how easy it was to reach 3.95GHz, I am sure that with more tweaking and playing I would be able to get quite a bit more out of the P55 Extreme4.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3530_24.png

 

You can see the validation for the ASRock P55 Extreme4 here.

 


OC Tuner

 

The included overclocking software with the ASRock P55 Extreme4 is called OC Tuner. It is not as polished as most of the other software packages available on the market. It even looks like it is not all the way finished. The graphics are cartoonish at best, while the functionality of the software leaves a little to be desired. It is not that the software does not work; it is that it takes some getting used to. We played with it for a little bit, but found it was much easier to work within the BIOS.

 

TweakTown image content/3/5/3530_25.png

 

As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary. Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases