TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,912 Reviews & Articles | 38,077 News Posts

GIGABYTE P55A-UD7 (P55 Express) Motherboard - BIOS and Overclocking

We take a close look at the UD7 flavour of GIGABYTE's P55 motherboard to see if the 24 phase power really makes a difference.

| Socket LGA 1156 in Motherboards | Posted: Jun 5, 2010 2:14 am
TweakTown Rating: 90%      Manufacturer: GIGABYTE

BIOS

 

The BIOS in the P55A-UD7 is laid well. These images show BIOS version F2, but even with BIOS F5 (the one used for final testing) the layout did not change much.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_13.jpg

 

One of the things that stood out for me was how GB has split everything out into separate pages. This made photographing the pages easy and also lumped the individual settings into more appropriate groups.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_14.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_15.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_16.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_17.jpg

 

Inside the Integrated Peripherals page, there you have to be careful. There are about four different places you have to go to set up your SATA emulation. This is somewhat annoying, but does allow you to add some flexibility into your SATA drive configuration.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_18.jpg

 


Overclocking

 

Our overclocking experience with the P55A-UD7 was enjoyable. We were able to quickly get the system up to 4.263GHz and stable for an entire run of tests and gaming. We do think that with extra time and a little more tinkering we could get even farther, perhaps breaking our record for the i5 750 test CPU (at 4.4GHz).

 

We did find that we needed more CPU PLL voltage than normal (we were at 2V Vs 1.92-1.96 that we normally use). But on the opposite side, the CPU VTT voltage was lower.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_19.png

 

You can see the validation for the GA-P55A-UD7 and Core i5 750 here.

 


EasyTune6

 

Although we have covered this software before on other GIGABYTE boards, we have to mention a couple of things with the P55A-UD7. For some reason we could not get the Quick Boost to work; it would start and then, on reboot, the system would not boot into Windows.

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_24.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_25.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_26.png

 

Now, this did not affect the other areas of the software and after our boot into Windows at 218x20 was what we used to tweak the system down to a stable clock speed for our testing. It is a great tool for "in-Windows" overclocking and one that has multiple uses (including GPU overclocking in some cases)

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_27.png

 

TweakTown image content/3/3/3330_28.png

 


As all overclocking results are dependent on the hardware you use, your results may vary. Results of our overclocking tests are included in the performance section with the stock scores.

 

Important Editor Note: Our maximum overclocking result is the best result we managed in our limited time of testing the motherboard. Due to time constraints we weren't able to tweak the motherboard to the absolute maximum and find the highest possible FSB, as this could take days to find properly. We do however spend at least a few hours overclocking every motherboard to try and find the highest possible overclock in that time frame. You may or may not be able to overclock higher if you spend more time tweaking or as new BIOS updates are released. "Burn-in" time might also come into play if you believe in that.

 

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Facebook's acquisition of Oculus VR will...

Improve Oculus Rift Development

Hamper Oculus Rift Development

Completely destroy Oculus Rift Development

Let's wait and see, I'm not sure

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases