TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,067 Reviews & Articles | 38,989 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: NVIDIA releases the GeForce GTX 980, its most advanced GPU at $549

Crucial M550 1TB SSD Review - Crucial M550 1TB SSD

Crucial M550 1TB SSD Review
Crucial claims the M550 SSD will fill in the missing link for performance, but the cost will increase over the previous model M500 street price. (NASDAQ:MU)
| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Mar 18, 2014 1:30 pm
TweakTown Rating: 93%Manufacturer: Crucial

Crucial M550 1TB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6173_03_crucial_m550_1tb_ssd_review.jpg

 

We're going to buzz through some of the box and drive images so we can finish all four reviews in a timely manner.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6173_04_crucial_m550_1tb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6173_05_crucial_m550_1tb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6173_06_crucial_m550_1tb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at the M550. Crucial used a 7mm case design and includes a 7mm to 9.5mm adapter plate. Our drive didn't ship with a desktop adapter bracket or other accessories like SATA cables, screws, and so on. The M550 is a performance SSD without all of the goodies that increase the cost.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6173_07_crucial_m550_1tb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6173_08_crucial_m550_1tb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6173_09_crucial_m550_1tb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6173_10_crucial_m550_1tb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Inside the case is where we found the actual parts that make this amazing technology work. Crucial armed the M550 1TB with a Marvell controller, two Micron DRAM packages to cache the page data, and sixteen NAND flash packages.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6173_11_crucial_m550_1tb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6173_12_crucial_m550_1tb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The Marvell 88SS9189 is a bit faster than the 88SS9187 used in the M500.

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6173_13_crucial_m550_1tb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6173_14_crucial_m550_1tb_ssd_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/6/1/6173_15_crucial_m550_1tb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The M550 has host power loss protection built into the drive.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases