TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
6,011 Reviews & Articles | 38,773 News Posts
TRENDING NOW: Windows 9 logo teased, with Microsoft's next OS 'coming soon'

ECS A85F2-A GOLDEN (AMD A85X) Motherboard Review

ECS A85F2-A GOLDEN (AMD A85X) Motherboard Review
We take a look at the "GOLDEN" Series A85X based motherboard from the folks over at ECS. There's certainly gold featured everywhere, but it does it deserved your gold?
| Socket FM2 in Motherboards | Posted: Mar 7, 2013 6:17 am
TweakTown Rating: 88%Manufacturer: ECS

Introduction

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_02_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

While a massive company, ECS doesn't have the brightest name when it comes to the more mainstream retail segment. Talking to a motherboard manufacturer the other week, I heard something very interesting. They mentioned that ECS actually makes some fantastic motherboards and the quality of the components they use are excellent. But they're let down when it comes to the BIOS side of things. It's something we'd have to totally agree with from past experience.

 

Out of the box ECS boards have never caused a problem for us. Overclocking on the other hand, while not being problematic, isn't exactly what we would call a pleasure. Like most people we don't like the BIOS and since the introduction of the UEFI interface, ECS is in a category with so many other companies in where we just feel the BIOS is unpolished and clunky.

 

We've got a bit of an update with the BIOS now, though, and we're hoping it stands out for the right reasons this time. We've got to look at a few things before we look at the updated BIOS. The first thing we'll do is check out the package to see what's going on in that department.

 

Once we've taken the time to look at the package we'll move onto the board itself before moving onto the BIOS. From there we'll check out our test system today and also cover the overclocking side of things. We'll quickly go over the other setups that you'll see in our graphs here today before finally getting into the performance side of things.

 

 

Package

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_03_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

The front and back of the box are actually identical with the company logo in the top left, the model number in the middle of the box and a logo for the Black Extreme name. We've of course got a whole shiny golden theme to remind us that this is part of the "Golden" Series from ECS. Opening up each side of the box is where all the main information comes from.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_04_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_05_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

Opening up the box you can see we've got a heavy focus on the "Golden" side of things including mention of Gold Plating throughout the I/O panel. We can also see some of the main improvements across the bottom including Golden Quality, Golden Stability, Golden Cooling and Golden Royalty. On the right hand side you can see our first look at the motherboard with the model number again shown. Across the bottom you can see we're dealing with a Socket FM2 motherboard and a number of other logos are seen.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_06_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_07_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

As we flip over the box and open up the other side you can see the left side gives us a run down on some more features that are on offer including Hyper Alloy Choke, Nonstop Technology, THX Support and friendly design to name some of the few. As for the other side we see mention of the RAM Overclocking ability, CrossFire support and more on the Hyper Alloy Choke.

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_08_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

TweakTown image content/5/2/5238_09_ecs_a85f2_a_golden_amd_a85x_motherboard_review.jpg

 

As we move inside the bundle there's not a whole lot to see. Apart from some paperwork and a driver CD, we've got a gold I/O back plate along with seven SATA cables to round off the bundle.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Motherboards content at our Motherboards reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Got an opinion on this content? Post a comment below!

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases