TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,975 Reviews & Articles | 38,603 News Posts

OCZ Vector 128GB SSD Review - OCZ Vector 128GB SSD

You asked for it, we got it. Today Chris takes the world's first look at the OCZ Vector 128GB SSD based on the new Indilinx Barefoot 3 controller that is raging fast. Can the smallest capacity Vector outperform existing SSDs on the market costing less? We'll find out today and also see more tests that make up the 2013 bench tests.

| SSDs in Storage | Posted: Jan 1, 1970 12:00 am
TweakTown Rating: 93%      Manufacturer: OCZ Technology

OCZ Vector 128GB SSD

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5110_11_ocz_vector_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

Here we get our first look at Vector 128GB. The new case design is really cool and a big step up from the mixed plastic with thin brushed metal used on Vertex 4.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5110_12_ocz_vector_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

All of the relevant information is on the back label. Here you'll find the part number and the serial number.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5110_13_ocz_vector_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

All three Vector capacity sizes ship in a slim 7mm case. The 7mm form factor uses the same mounting positions as standard 9.5mm 'notebook' drives so you won't have a problem installing the drive in your existing notebook or new ultrabook as long as it has an open SATA port.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5110_14_ocz_vector_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

OCZ also includes a desktop adapter bracket that allows you to mount the drive in your desktop 3.5" form factor bay.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5110_15_ocz_vector_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The Indilinx Barefoot 3 controller is fused to the case via thermal transfer material. This aids in moving any heat from the controller to the case keeping the controller cool.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5110_16_ocz_vector_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

The controller takes up residence in the middle of the PCB and 25nm IMFT NAND flash surrounds the controller. There are two DRAM buffers for caching page table data, one on each side just like what we found on the 256GB model. There is an empty pad next to the controller and we suspect it's used on the larger 512GB model. Hopefully we can acquire a 512GB model soon!

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5110_17_ocz_vector_128gb_ssd_review.jpg

 

I want to point out that you should never open your SSD. We are trained professionals... well trained by trial and error. If you open your case you will void your warranty and possibly kill your drive.

 

TweakTown image content/5/1/5110_18_ocz_vector_128gb_ssd_review.png

 

Our drive arrived with a power on count of 8. It looks like OCZ tests their drives before shipping them. Burn In helps increase the quality of the products you receive.

 

Our retail purchased Vector 128GB shipped with firmware 1.03. This is a new release for us, our 256GB sample shipped with 1.02. We don't know what changes between the firmware releases.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Storage content at our Storage reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts
Check out TweakTown Polls on LockerDome on LockerDome

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases