TweakTown
Tech content trusted by users in North America and around the world
5,686 Reviews & Articles | 36,204 News Posts
Weekly Giveaway: Fractal Design Arc Cases Contest (Global Entry!)

SilverStone Temjin SST-TJ08-Evolution M-ATX Tower Chassis Review - The Build and Finished Product

The TJ08 of yesteryear gets not only a facelift, but a complete rethinking of what makes for a successful Micro-ATX chassis. SilverStone has delivered the latest Evolution; come take a look!

| Other Cases in Cases, Cooling & PSU | Posted: Sep 26, 2011 4:59 am
TweakTown Rating: 92%      Manufacturer: SilverStone

The Build and Finished Product

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_28_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Orienting the motherboard tray so that the hardware looked a bit better, I figured this was a good time to show this off before I installed it and started to cover this with wires and shadows. As I mentioned, the Z68MA-D2H-B3 GIGABYTE gave me for testing with a full sized tower cooler on top just to test the limitations of the chassis while I'm in here.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_29_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

I installed SilverStone's own ST75F-G PSU which is 180mm, the absolute maximum that will fit inside the TJ08-E, and you will soon see why I stressed the 160mm recommendation rather than the absolute maximum. That 160mm suggestion is a point not to take lightly, it took a few waves of the magic wand and a few four letter words to get my system wired.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_30_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

You can see that once the optical drive is in, and yes, this is a shorter model DVD drive, I thought I had plenty of room to make all the connections as I grabbed into the tub for the short cable kit wires to get things powered up.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_31_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

They were not over stating that 160mm at all. It took me two or three attempts at stacking the modular cables so that they would both clip into the PSU and bend the way I needed them to, but with the GPU power leads being so thick and the lack of room with my bold move to go ahead with a 180mm PSU jumped up and bit me at every turn. I was on a mission, and I wasn't taking no for an answer - the power supply matched the case; it had to go in there!

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_32_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Those that follow my reviews know by now that if it's removable and I don't need it, it stays removed for the build. While I can appreciate the drive system and its modularity, I am much fonder of the fact that it's gone. With no cages to disturb the airflow, I am maximizing what cooling is offered in this chassis. That large 180mm Air Penetrator now has free reign to deliver both the GPU up top and the CPU at the bottom with everything it has to provide!

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_33_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

With the motherboard tray back in the chassis, I was able to simply lay the case on its back, slide the pad up to the cooler and hold it in place while I tightened the screw under the chassis to lock this into place.

 

TweakTown image content/4/3/4310_34_silverstone_temjin_sst_tj08_evolution_m_atx_tower_chassis_review.jpg

 

Once the fan is connected to a power source, there are still options. Hopefully you have a header that you can deliver a constant 12V through, because then you can use this switch to power the fan in low or hi modes. If you don't want to mess with the switch, you can always use the BIOS to control the fan with the heat inside the chassis. Since there are now Molex power adapters, out of the box, those are the choices.

Related Tags

Further Reading: Read and find more Cases, Cooling & PSU content at our Cases, Cooling & PSU reviews, guides and articles index page.

Do you get our RSS feed? Get It!

Post a Comment about this content

Latest Tech News Posts

View More News Posts

Latest Downloads

View More Latest Downloads

TweakTown Web Poll

Question: Did EA kill the Battlefield franchise with the terrible BF4 issues?

Yes, Battlefield is doomed

No, Battlefield will live on strong

I'm not sure, but I know EA needs to improve its game

or View the Results

View More Polls

Forum Activity

View More Forum Posts

Press Releases

View More Press Releases
Get TweakTown updates via Facebook!
Just click the "Like" button below