GIVEAWAY: Gaming peripherals upgrade thanks to Corsair worth $280

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review

Naturally, Sabrent is first to slap a Gen4 interface on a QLC SSD. Here's our full review of the Rocket Q4 NVMe drive at 2TB.

@JonCoulterSSD
Published Mon, Sep 28 2020 8:00 AM CDT   |   Updated Thu, Oct 15 2020 1:05 PM CDT
Rating: 94%Manufacturer: Sabrent (SB-RKTQ4-2TB)

Introduction & Drive Details

One thing we've learned about Sabrent is they are the most forward-thinking SSD company. So, it comes as no surprise that Sabrent is first to market with a Gen4 powered QLC SSD. The Rocket Q4 NVMe Series SSDs follow along the same "Capacity is King" path that has been forged almost single-handedly by Sabrent. As such, the smallest capacity available is 1TB.

We are now in the era of 2TB being the sweet spot for fast NVMe storage, and that is exactly what we have on our bench today. Sabrent's 2TB Rocket Q4 NVMe SSD is powered by Phison's proven E16 Gen4 SSD controller and a Micron 96L QLC flash array. Additionally, the drive features onboard DRAM to help speed things along.

As with every Gen4 SSD made to date, you will need AMD's Gen4 hardware to realize the Rocket Q4's full sequential speeds that can go as high as 5,000 MB/s. If you use the Rocket Q4 with Gen3 hardware, your sequential speeds will max out at about 3,500 GB/s, so keep that in mind.

Now, let's take a closer look at Sabrent's latest Gen4 SSD.

Drive Details

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 01 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 45 IMAGES

The Rocket Q4's endurance should be plenty for most consumer users.

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 02 | TweakTown.comSabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 03 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 04 | TweakTown.comSabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 05 | TweakTown.com

Sabrent's 2TB Rocket Q NVMe SSD ships in the same unique metal clamshell packaging we've become accustomed to seeing from Sabrent. In our opinion, it is the best packaging in the business.

Jon's Test System Specifications

Buy at Amazon

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 x4 M.2 SSD

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$319.99$319.99-
* Prices last scanned on 10/20/2020 at 7:32 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

SSD Software

Sabrent Rocket Control Panel/Acronis for Sabrent

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 06 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 07 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 08 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 09 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 10 | TweakTown.com

Click here to download Sabrent Rocket Control Panel.

Sabrent's SSD management software is free, and among the best there is. With it, you can perform numerous useful functions to maintain your Sabrent NVMe SSD. You can also get various free tools, including Sabrent's exclusive version of Acronis True Image, with just a click.

Register your SSD with Sabrent within 90 days to extend the Rocket Q4's warranty period from 1-year to 5-years.

Synthetic Benchmarks: CDM & Anvils

CrystalDiskMark

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 11 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 12 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 13 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 14 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 15 | TweakTown.com

We are immediately treated to Gen4 sequential read speeds of essentially 5,000 MB/s. Wow, amazing for a QLC SSD to generate speeds like that. Sequential write speeds are also significantly better than we've seen from any 2TB class Gen3 NVMe SSD we've tested to date. QD1 random write is among the best we've recorded.

Anvil's Storage Utilities

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 16 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 17 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 18 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 19 | TweakTown.com

The Rocket Q4 distinguishes itself as one of the few SSDs to ever eclipse 20K total score. Additionally, it delivers an equally elite performance of over 7K total read score. Impressive.

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 20 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 21 | TweakTown.com

Max random write IOPS result is outstanding. In fact, it's the highest we've seen from any SSD when tested at QD64. We can likely hit a million IOPS if we really wanted to do so. Max random read IOPS also comes in above factory specs, which is nice to see.

Synthetic Benchmarks: AS SSD & ATTO

AS SSD

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 22 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 23 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 24 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 25 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 26 | TweakTown.com

Again, one of the best performances we've ever recorded for a 2TB-class SSD.

ATTO

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 27 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 28 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 29 | TweakTown.com

A Gen4 interface makes all the difference here as the Rocket Q4 delivers another best-in-class performance.

Real-World Testing: Transfer Rates & Gaming

Transfer Rates

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 30 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 31 | TweakTown.com

This is a 100GB transfer, not some little test, and the Rocket Q4 again rises to the occasion. Amazing performance for a QLC SSD.

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 32 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 33 | TweakTown.com

Serving data to the host is something the Rocket Q4 does exceptionally well. In fact, it does it almost as well as the Gen4 TLC SSD in our test pool.

Game Level Loading

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 34 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 35 | TweakTown.com

Gen4 doesn't provide any benefit here. It's not bad, but we would like to see something in the 11-second range.

Real-World Testing: PCMark 10 Storage Tests

PCMark 10 Storage Test is the most advanced and most accurate real-world consumer storage test ever made. There are four different tests you can choose from; we run two of them. The Full System Drive Benchmark and the Quick System Drive Benchmark.

The Full System Drive Benchmark writes 204GB of data over the duration of the test. The Quick System Drive Benchmark writes 23GB of data over the duration of the test. These tests directly correlate with user experience. Of the two tests, we feel that the Quick System Drive Test most accurately replicates a typical user experience.

PCMark 10 Full System Drive Benchmark

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 36 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 37 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 38 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 39 | TweakTown.com

Although significantly better than the 2TB Rocket Q, the Gen4 version still doesn't like really heavy workloads.

PCMark 10 Quick System Drive Benchmark

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 40 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 41 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 42 | TweakTown.com
Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 43 | TweakTown.com

Gen4 doesn't really bring much performance improvement here either, but that is fine because Sabrent's QLC SSDs already excel at this our most important test.

Final Thoughts

As we've come to expect from Sabrent, the Rocket Q4 is another industry first. Gen4 and QLC is a surprisingly potent combination. In this case, sequential speeds and transfer rates are among the best we've ever seen for any SSD, let alone one with a 4-bit flash array.

As a matter of preference, we find the Rocket Q4 to be one of the most attractive looking SSDs we've seen. That black PCB with a white and copper-colored label is stunning.

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 44 | TweakTown.com

In terms of user experience, the Rocket Q4 2TB delivers more than its Gen3 variant and more than many big-name TLC SSDs.

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB SSD Review 45 | TweakTown.com

As we look back at our results, we find quite a few notable highlights provided by the 2TB Rocket Q4. Most of these highlights encompass synthetic testing. Starting with CDM, the Rocket Q4 served up 4,993 MB/s sequential read speed and, overall, one of the best CDM performances for any SSD to date. More of the same with Anvil, where the Rocket Q4 treated us to a 20K performance.

Continuing along, the Rocket Q4 chewed through AS SSD like it was no big deal, and when unleashed on ATTO, the Rocket Q4 served up truly elite performances. Next and probably the most impressive for a QLC SSD, the Rocket Q4 delivered over 800 MB/s when writing 100GB of data. Rounding things out, the Rocket Q4 served up excellent user experience, as demonstrated by our PCMark 1o Quick System Disk test.

Overall, Sabrent's Rocket Q4 SSD is among the fastest SSDs you can buy, which is quite a feat when QLC is in the mix.

Pros

  • Capacity
  • User Experience
  • 5-Year Warranty

Cons

  • Heavy Workloads
Buy at Amazon

Performance

92%

Quality

96%

Features

99%

Value

90%

Overall

94%

The Bottom Line

Gen4 speeds plus capacity on the cheap, how can you not love that?

TweakTown award
94%

Sabrent Rocket Q4 NVMe 2TB NVMe PCIe Gen4 x4 M.2 SSD

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$319.99$319.99-
* Prices last scanned on 10/20/2020 at 7:32 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Jon became a computer enthusiast when Windows XP launched. He was into water cooling and benching ATI video cards with modded drivers. Jon has been building computers for others for more than 10 years. Jon became a storage enthusiast the day he first booted an Intel X25-M G1 80GB SSD. Look for Jon to bring consumer SSD reviews into the spotlight.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription

Latest News

View More News

Latest Reviews

View More Reviews

Latest Articles

View More Articles