Technology and gaming content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,614 Reviews & Articles | 61,007 News Posts

Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3200 32GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review (Page 3)

Chad Sebring | May 18, 2020 at 8:50 am CDT - 3 mins, 26 secs time to read this page
Rating: 93%Manufacturer: CrucialModel: BL2K16G32C16U4B

Test System Details

Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3200 32GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review 10 | TweakTown.com

To obtain the AMD CPU-Z screenshots, you will see directly following this image, and this is the system we used to do it, as well as in attaining the results seen in the following pages. Thanks go out to Corsair, ASUS, and GIGABYTE for supporting this venture. For detailed specifications of the system, those can be found below.

Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3200 32GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review 11 | TweakTown.com

With the Ballistix controlled by the 3900X and ASUS C8H, our first trip to BIOS to enable DOCP results in the information we see in CPU-Z. The RAM immediately shows up at 3200MHz with 16-18-18-36 1T timings with 1.35 set for the VDIMM and 1.080V to the SOC voltage.

Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3200 32GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review 12 | TweakTown.com

Increasing the VDIMM to 1.45V and the SOC to 1.18V, we tried to lower the timings as far as we can get, while still offering long term stability. In that effort, we leave the kit at 3200MHz but can get the timings down to 13-16-16-36 but at 2T for some reason, unless you set the BIOS to ignore it, which is even more impressive considering the amount of ICs we are changing!

Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3200 32GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review 13 | TweakTown.com

Keeping the same voltages as we used in the previous run, we reset the timings to 16-18-18-36 1T, and attempt to maximize the overall speed. Pursuing the highest speed, we got up to 3666MHz, nearly 500MHz over the XMP profile, stable as could be! Again, not the best OC percentage we have ever seen, but by far, the best jump for a 32GB kit.

Chad's AMD DDR4 Dual-Channel Test System Specifications

Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3200 32GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review 14 | TweakTown.com

To obtain the following CPU-Z images as well as the performance seen in the charts, we are using this Intel system to do so. For this system, we were helped by Corsair, and are using the same card from GIGABYTE seen in the AMD rig. Shout outs go to them for supporting us here as well!

Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3200 32GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review 15 | TweakTown.com

After installing the Ballistix, clearing CMOS, and entering BIOS to enable XMP, this was the result. 3600 MHz with 16-18-18-36 timings at 1.35V with full stability. Taking a look back in the BIOS, the motherboard auto sets the VCCIO and VCCSA to 1.20V and 1.35V, respectively.

Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3200 32GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review 16 | TweakTown.com

When it came to attempting the lower the timings, we found that the Ballistix was at the bottom of the range with the AMD results, as they match here with our 7740X, outside of the increased tRFC and 2T at the bottom. We bottomed out at 13-16-16-36 2T, using 1.45 VDIMM and changed the VCCIO to 1.30V.

Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3200 32GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review 17 | TweakTown.com

After much stability testing, we found that our Intel system allows the Ballistix o stretch their legs a bit more, topping out at 3733 MHz, which is well over a 500MHz bonus. Nothing changes in the voltages from the above mention of them, but this kit responds to voltages, and if you increase past our "safe-voltage" you may see even more speed from kits such as this!

Chad's Intel DDR4 Dual-Channel Test System Specifications

Buy at Amazon

Crucial Ballistix DDR4-3200 32GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
Buy at Amazon
$159.99$159.99-
* Prices last scanned on 5/31/2020 at 11:14 pm CDT - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.
Chad Sebring

ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Chad Sebring

After a year of gaming, Chad caught the OC bug. With overclocking comes the need for better cooling, and Chad has had many air and water setups. With a few years of abusing computer parts, he decided to take his chances and try to get a review job. As an avid overclocker, Chad is always looking for the next leg up in RAM, cooling, as well as peripherals.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags