Epic Thanksgiving Giveaway: MSI GeForce RTX 3080 GAMING X TRIO!

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review

Buffalo launches its latest rackmount platform with enhanced software features. Here's our full review.

@TylerBernath
Published Wed, Jan 15 2020 11:21 AM CST   |   Updated Tue, Nov 3 2020 6:57 PM CST
Rating: 88%Manufacturer: Buffalo (TS6400RN1604)

Introduction

Over the last few years, Buffalo has made great strides bringing its NAS platforms up to date with the latest hardware. That said, its software has always been slightly behind the curve until mid-2018 when they revamped their OS for a more updated dashboard with new features. One of these new features to debut with the TS6400 is a remote management feature along with snapshots.

The TS6400 1U rackmount and desktop solutions feature the same hardware platform consisting of a Denverton Intel Atom C3538, paired with 8GB of DDR4 ECC memory. The 6400 only comes in a four-bay platform supporting SATA6Gb/s with capacity options of 16 and 32TB.

Seagate is the chosen drive provider as of this review supplying four Ironwolf NAS hard drives. Further specifications offer two USB 3.0 ports supporting 5Gbps connectivity along with two 1Gbe ports and one 10Gbe port.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 01 | TweakTown.com
VIEW GALLERY - 25 IMAGES

MSRP of the 16TB TeraStation 6400RN comes in at $2319.99 with a three-year warranty.

Buy at Amazon

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$1995.59$1962.23$1912.95
* Prices last scanned on 11/25/2020 at 12:43 pm CST - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Buffalo NAS Appliance

Packaging and a Closer Look

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 02 | TweakTown.com

Packaging for the TeraStation 6400 offers a simple cardboard box with a sticker offering model and capacity information.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 03 | TweakTown.com

The accessory kit that comes with the 6400 includes rails for setting up the NAS in a rack. Power and ethernet cables are included as well as a cable tie and reading materials.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 04 | TweakTown.com

The front of the unit houses all four bays complete with numbered trays. Across the top of the NAS, we have LEDs for each tray along with the LAN connections. To the far right, you will find a USB 3.0 port.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 05 | TweakTown.com

The backside of the NAS features a VGA console port followed by USB 3.0 and dual 1Gbe. The 10Gbe port comes next and last the power input to the far right.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 06 | TweakTown.com

Internally, the chassis leaves plenty of room for the components. We have a SAS daughterboard connecting to the backplane up top, power supply to the right. On the motherboard, you will find the only SO-DIMM slot just above the CPU with an m.2 slot to the left.

Test System Setup and Web Management

Tyler's Test System Specifications

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 10 | TweakTown.com

Buffalo uses NAS Navigator2 to aid in the setup, as seen above.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 11 | TweakTown.com

Moving through setup, we start by setting up the admin account.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 12 | TweakTown.com

We then come to an advert for the new Remote Management Service for TeraStation appliances. You can follow the link during setup to get more info on this service.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 13 | TweakTown.com

The TS6400RN was delivered in RAID5. Other options include RAID6, RAID 10, and RAID 0.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 15 | TweakTown.com

The 6400 takes full advantage of the new software platform. At the top, we have Remote Management, with system and storage below and system usage to the right.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 16 | TweakTown.com

Moving down the sidebar, we have File Sharing, which includes shared folder setup, users and groups, and file services such as SMB, AFP, and NFS.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 17 | TweakTown.com

The storage menu offers information on the drives, including internal and USB connected solutions. RAID and the Logical Volume Manager. iSCSI can be found at the bottom.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 18 | TweakTown.com

Cloud storage options include Dropbox, Azure, and OneDrive.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 19 | TweakTown.com

Network options include workgroup and domain setup, IP address configuration along with SNMP, and Port Trunking.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 21 | TweakTown.com

Management includes options for setting up notifications, sleep settings, and power. You can also restore/erase configs for the NAS and update the firmware.

Folder Snapshot Setup

Snapshot Setup

Snapshots have become increasingly popular with NAS platforms as they enable the end-user or business to have "backups" of user folders and files should you encounter unintended user error deleting files or ransomware, where snapshot can help fill the gap to protect you without disrupting business continuity.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 22 | TweakTown.com

Snapshot setup is straight forward but does take a few steps. We first go to our shared folder list, above we have just one folder named DATA.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 23 | TweakTown.com

We click on the blue 0 under snapshots to bring up the menu above. From here, we can enable scheduled snapshots, choose the days of the week and time.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 24 | TweakTown.com

The Auto Archive tab allows you to set up how to name the snapshot files, versions, or timestamped.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 26 | TweakTown.com

When you need to restore a folder from a snapshot, you simply go back to the shared folder list, click the number under the snapshot, check the box and click restore.

Benchmarks -Sequential Performance and Workloads

Sequential Read and Write

Our Sequential read/write workload is centered on 128K transfer sizes at QD32. I ran testing for the Buffalo TeraStation 6400 with the included drives over a 5Gbe network.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 30 | TweakTown.com

With all three RAID modes hitting the limit of the 5Gbe connection, performance tops at 592 MB/s read.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 31 | TweakTown.com

Write performance is slightly lower; 373 MB/s for RAID 0, 378 MB/s for RAID 5, and 285 MB/s for RAID 6.

Workloads

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 32 | TweakTown.com

Workload testing shows fantastic results with Database reaching 20K IOPS. The other four workloads hovering between 1700 and 2000 IOPS.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 33 | TweakTown.com

RAID 5 gives Database another 10K IOPS with File Server right behind a touch under 6K IOPS.

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS Review 34 | TweakTown.com

RAID 6 favors Database at 8K with the other four between 1 and 2K IOPS.

Final Thoughts

Buffalo has done a solid job with the TeraStation 6400 both in hardware choice, which happens to be the same configuration being used by ASUSTOR with our recently reviewed Lockerstor platform and Synology with its DS1618+ and DS2419+, and the steady updates to features consumers want. Most notably in my testing was the addition of snapshots, which has become a must-have for my own data.

Build quality is quite good with your standard 1U metal enclosure, included rails for mounting the NAS simplifies the installation process and information center along the top of the drive trays offers all the needed info with LEDs.

The performance was on par with expectations, and having tested this unit with 5Gbe in our new test system, there were a few occasions where we did reach the limit of the interface. That said, the sequential performance was quite good, especially in read operations, while write performance at its lowest was 285 MB/s in RAID and 373 MB/s in RAID 0. Workload testing again showed this hardware loves Database workloads, reaching 20K IOPS in RAID 0, 11K IOPS in RAID 5, and 8K IOPS in RAID 6.

Pricing of the TeraStation 6400RN is coming in hot with an MSRP of $2319.99 for the 16TB model and $2899 for the 32TB model. That said, these units do feature a three-year warranty and are TAA compliant, making them a viable option for government agencies while homelabbers and consumers may want to look elsewhere for more budget-friendly solutions.

Buy at Amazon

Performance

85%

Quality

90%

Features

95%

Value

80%

Overall

88%

The Bottom Line

The TeraStation 6400 is a solid platform, turnkey for rapid deployment and better than ever with snapshot and remote management features.

TweakTown award
88%

Buffalo TeraStation 6400 Four-Bay NAS

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
$1995.59$1962.23$1912.95
* Prices last scanned on 11/25/2020 at 12:43 pm CST - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.

Growing up in a small farm town, tech wasn't around, unless it was in a tractor. At an early age, Tyler's parents brought home their first PC. Tyler was hooked and learned what it meant to format a HDD, spending many nights reinstalling Windows 95. Tyler's love and enthusiast nature always kept his PC nearby. Eager to get deeper into tech, he started reviewing.

Newsletter Subscription
We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags

Newsletter Subscription
Buyer Guides
Latest News
View More News
Latest Reviews
View More Reviews
Latest Articles
View More Articles