Technology and gaming content trusted in North America and globally since 1999
8,556 Reviews & Articles | 60,097 News Posts

G.SKILL TridentZ NEO DDR4-3600 16GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review (Page 3)

Chad Sebring | Dec 19, 2019 at 11:49 am CST - 3 mins, 26 secs reading time for this page
Rating: 97%Manufacturer: G.SKILLModel: F4-3600C16D-16GTZN

Test System Details

G.SKILL TridentZ NEO DDR4-3600 16GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review 11 | TweakTown.com

To obtain the following CPU-Z images as well as the performance seen in the charts, we are using this AMD system to do so. For this system, we were helped by ASUS, Corsair, and GIGABYTE. Shout outs go to them for supporting us!

G.SKILL TridentZ NEO DDR4-3600 16GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review 12 | TweakTown.com

After a boot with the SPD profile being successful, we went right to it and enabled DOCP. Doing so has the memory on the proper divider, even though our bus speed is slightly less than 100MHz by default. As the box and the sticker show, we are getting 3600MHz with 16-16-16-36 1T timings. To do so, the VDIMM moves to 1.35V, with the SOC set to 1.080V, with complete stability.

G.SKILL TridentZ NEO DDR4-3600 16GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review 13 | TweakTown.com

As we do, we attempt to lower the timings, using only a tenth of a volt added to the VDIMM as well as the SOC. Changing that pair of settings, and then diving into the memory menu allowed us to drop down to 14-14-14-36 1T. We did use 1.45 VDIMM and 1.180V to the SOC to achieve this, but we have done better than the best-binned set of F4-3600C14D-16GTZN, and without the price-premium attached.

G.SKILL TridentZ NEO DDR4-3600 16GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review 14 | TweakTown.com

While we may have had higher hopes for the headroom to push this kit further, anything over the XMP profile is a bonus, and we have to remember that. Even so, we were still able to get another 200MHz out of them while keeping the XMP 2.0 profile timings! We did tinker, and opting for 2T did not change things, we had to go to 17-17-17 at 1.45V to get any more speed out of them.

Chad's AMD DDR4 Dual-Channel Test System Specifications

G.SKILL TridentZ NEO DDR4-3600 16GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review 15 | TweakTown.com

To obtain the following CPU-Z images as well as the performance seen in the charts, we are using this Intel system to do so. For this system, we were helped by Corsair, and are using the same card from GIGABYTE seen in the AMD rig. Shout outs go to them for supporting us here as well!

G.SKILL TridentZ NEO DDR4-3600 16GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review 16 | TweakTown.com

Once the kit is installed on to the X299 motherboard, we went into BIOS and set the XMP. Upon rebooting, we found ourselves at 3600MHz with 16-16-16-36 timings, just using the 2T command rate this time. Allowing the motherboard to set the voltages, we saw 1.35 VDIMM, 1.20 VCCIO, and 1.35 VCCSA.

G.SKILL TridentZ NEO DDR4-3600 16GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review 17 | TweakTown.com

As we have found with many kits, with similar voltages applied, they tend to bottom out at the same point. As the AMD system delivered, our Intel rig was also able to get to 14-14-14-36, 2T this time, with the voltages at 1.45 VDIMM and leaving the VCCSA and VCCIO where they were.

G.SKILL TridentZ NEO DDR4-3600 16GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit Review 18 | TweakTown.com

With the same voltages used in the test above, we went for outright speed, while still maintain the 16-16-16-36 timings. Our 7740X IMC is strong, and it allowed the TridentZ NEO to run at 4000MHz, which is damn good considering the timings used!

Chad's Intel DDR4 Dual-Channel Test System Specifications

Last updated: Dec 20, 2019 at 06:11 am CST

Buy at Amazon

G.SKILL TridentZ NEO DDR4-3600 16GB Dual-Channel Memory Kit

TodayYesterday7 days ago30 days ago
Buy at Amazon
$194.20$194.20$194.20
* Prices last scanned on 1/20/2020 at 7:50 am CST - prices may not be accurate, click links above for the latest price. We may earn an affiliate commission.
Chad Sebring

ABOUT THE AUTHOR - Chad Sebring

After a year of gaming, Chad caught the OC bug. With overclocking comes the need for better cooling, and Chad has had many air and water setups. With a few years of abusing computer parts, he decided to take his chances and try to get a review job. As an avid overclocker, Chad is always looking for the next leg up in RAM, cooling, as well as peripherals.

We openly invite the companies who provide us with review samples / who are mentioned or discussed to express their opinion. If any company representative wishes to respond, we will publish the response here. Please contact us if you wish to respond.

Related Tags